Feo Aladag’s German entry When We Leave (Die Fremde) has won the ninth annual Tribeca Film Festival’s Founders Award for best narrative feature.

Kim Chapiron was named best new narrative filmmaker for Dog Pound, while the prizes for best actor and actress in a narrative feature film went to Eric Elmosnino in Gainsbourg, Je t’Aime… Moi Non Plus and Sibel Kekilli in When We Leave, respectively.

In the world cinema documentary category Alexandra Codina’s Monica & David was named best documentary feature, and Clio Barnard was voted best new documentary filmmaker for The Arbor.

In the New York Competition Categories, Dana Adam Shapiro’s Monogamy was named best New York narrative and best New York documentary went to The Woodmans by C Scott Willis.

In the short film competition, Father Christmas Doesn’t Come Here by Bekhi Sibiya won best narrative, while Travis Senger’s White Lines & The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug was named best documentary, and Maggie Kiley’s Some Boys Don’t Leave won the Student Visionary Award.

The Tribeca Film Festival Virtual best feature film voted on by TFF Virtual passholders went to Spork J B Ghuman Jr, and best short film was awarded to Delilah, Before, by Melanie Schiele.

“Our jurors have dedicated themselves to the task of carefully considering the diverse films that were part of this year’s competition at the Festival,” Tribeca executive director Nancy Schafer said. “We are grateful for their hard work and salute their choices along with the rest of our 2010 film-makers.”