The embattled Writers Guild Of America has announced its nominations for the 2008 Writers Guild Awards that will take place in Los Angeles and New York on February 9.

In the original screenplay category Diablo Cody is named for Juno, as are Tony Gilroy for Michael Clayton, Tamara Jenkins for The Savages, Judd Apatow for Knocked Up and Nancy Oliver for Lars And The Real Girl.

Adapted screenplay nominees are Ethan Coen and Joel Coen for No Country For Old Men, Paul Thomas Anderson for There Will Be Blood, Ronald Harwood for The Diving Bell And The Butterfly, Sean Penn for Into The Wild and James Vanderbilt for Zodiac. Christopher Hampton is a surprise absentee for Atonment.

Documentary screenplay nominees are Anthony Giacchino for The Camden 28, Bill Guttentag and Dan Sturman and Elisabeth Bentley for Nanking, Charles Ferguson for No End In Sight, Richard Berge, Nicole Newnham and Bonni Cohen for The Rape Of Europa, Michael Moore for Sicko and Alex Gibney for Taxi To The Dark Side.

Feature films eligible for a WGA must have been released in 2007 and produced under the jurisdiction of Writers Guild of America, East and West or affiliate guilds in Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, and New Zealand.

There were 267 films eligible for nomination, 164 of which fell into the original screenplay category and 103 in the adapted section.

Documentaries eligible for a WGA award must have screened theatrically for one week in Los Angeles or New York for one week in 2007.

For more information about the 2008 Writers Guild Awards visit