The Cadillac People’s Choice Award has gone to Nadine Labaki’s Where Do We Go Now? (pictured) about a doughty band of women determined to protect their war-torn community.

Asghar Farhadi’s Berlin Golden Lion winner A Separation and Ken Scott’s Quebecois hit Starbuck were named first runners-up. All awards were presented at a lunch ceremony at the Four Seasons on Sunday (18).

The Cadillac People’s Choice Documentary Award went to Jon Shenk’s portrait of Maldives leader Mohamed Nasheed in The Island President. Bess Kargman’s First Position was named first runner-up followed by Cameron Crowe’s Pearl Jam Twenty.

The Midnight Madness audience winner was Gareth Evans’ The Raid starring Indonesian martial arts sensation Iko Uwais. Adam Wingard’s home invasion thriller You’re Next was first runner-up and second runner-up was Bobcat Goldthwait’s God Bless America.

THE Skyy Vodka Award for best Canadian first feature went to Nathan Morlando for Edwin Boyd starring Scott Speedman. The award carries a $15,000 prize. The jury gave a special citation to Anne Émond’s Nuit #1.

The City Of Toronto Award For Best Canadian Feature plus a $30,000 cash prize was presented to Philippe Falardeau for Monsieur Lazhar and The Award For Best Canadian Short Film went to Ian Harnarine for Doubles With Slight Pepper. There were honourable mentions for Mathieu Tremblay’s Of Events (D’aléas) and Ryan Flowers and Lisa Pham’s No Words Came Down.

FIPRESCI honours were presented to Axel Petersen for Avalon (Sweden) from the Discovery programme and to Gianni Amelio for The First Man (Le Premier Homme) (France, Algeria, Italy) from the special presentations.