By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Student Academy Awards names winners

Miss Todd, directed by Kristina Yee from the UK’s NFTS, wins Best Foreign Film - the first animated feature to ever win the category.

Scroll down for full list of winners

A total of 16 young filmmakers collected trophies at the Student Academy Awards on Saturday night, hosted by comedian Bob Saget at the Motion Picture Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

Awards were presented by actors Clark Gregg, Jason Schwartzman and Quvenzhané Wallis as well as Boys Don’t Cry writer-director Kimberly Peirce.

Three international student filmmakers and 13 student filmmakers from the US picked up prizes in the alternative, animation, documentary, narrative and foreign film categories.

Miss Todd, a student film from the UK’s National Film and Television School, won gold in the foreign category – the first time an animated film has won the prize since the launch of the awards in 1972.

Directed by Kristina Yee, co-written by Frances Polettiand produced by Suzanne Mayger, the stop-frame animated musical uses paper puppets in a story about a pioneering American female pilot.

Following the win, Yee said: “I owe a huge debt of gratitude to the NFTS… To my team I owe everything. They are not only amazingly talented, but have real and rare attributes that are invaluable in the industry, like their unflagging dedication, collaborative spirit, and endless ingenuity.”

It marks the NFTS’s sixth win at the Student Academy Awards.

Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards.  The roster includes such filmmakers as John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.

Winners were flown to LA and put up in the JW Marriott for the weekend. Meetings were scheduled by the Academy between student filmmakers and screenwriters, directors and producers.

Full list of winners


  • Gold Medal: “Bottled Up,” Rafael Cortina, Occidental College
  • Silver Medal: “Zug,” Perry Janes, University of Michigan
  • Bronze Medal: “The Compositor,” John Mattiuzzi, School of Visual Arts


  • Gold Medal: “Dia de los Muertos,” Lindsey St. Pierre and Ashley Graham, Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Silver Medal: “Will,” Eusong Lee, California Institute of the Arts
  • Bronze Medal: “Peck Pocketed,” Kevin Herron, Ringling College of Art and Design


  • Gold Medal: “A Second Chance,” David Aristizabal, USC
  • Silver Medal: “Every Tuesday: A Portrait of The New Yorker Cartoonists,” Rachel Loube, School of Visual Arts
  • Bronze Medal: “Win or Lose,” Daniel Koehler, Elon University


  • Gold Medal: “Ol’ Daddy,” Brian Schwarz, University of Texas at Austin
  • Silver Medal: “Josephine and the Roach,” Jonathan Langager, USC
  • Bronze Medal: “Un Mundo para Raúl (A World for Raúl),” Mauro Mueller, Columbia University

Foreign Film

  • Gold Medal: “Miss Todd,” Kristina Yee, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom
  • Silver Medal: “Parvaneh,” Talkhon Hamzavi, Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland
  • Bronze Medal: “Tweesprong (Crossroads),” Wouter Bouvijn, RITS School of Arts, Erasmus University College Brussels

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related images

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!