The New York Film Critics Circle have announced the season’s first meaningful bucket of awards and anointed Boyhood best film, Richard Linklater best director and Patricia Arquette best supporting actress.

Marion Cotillard earned best actress for both The Immigrant and Two Days, One Night, while Timothy Spall won best actor for Mr. Turner.

A Special Award went to Adrienne Mancia, who served as curator at MoMA for more than 30 years.

“This was perhaps the most eclectic, least predictable movie year in recent memory, and I think the Circle’s final choices clearly show that diversity, drama and style - which makes Tao Downtown a particularly fitting choice for this year’s gala,” said NYFCC chairman Stephen Whitty.

The group will hand out the 80th annual awards in New York on January 5.

The full list of winners:

Best Picture

Best Director
Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Best Screenplay
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Actress
Marion Cotillard, The Immigrant and Two Days, One Night

Best Actor
Timothy Spall, Mr. Turner

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

Best Supporting Actor
JK Simmons, Whiplash

Best Foreign Language Film

Best Cinematography
Darius Khondji, The Immigrant

Best Nonfiction Film          

Best First Film
Jennifer Kent, The Babadook

Best Animated Film
The Lego Movie

Special Award
Adrienne Mancia