The organisers of the 12th Festival du Film Britannique de Dinard have announced British actress, Emily Watson (Breaking The Waves, Gosford Park) as this year's jury president presiding over a jury of ten.

Fellow jury members include: director Michel Alexandre, actor Daniel Craig, actress and musician Nicole Croisille, actor Adrian Dunbar, actress Sophie Guillemin, actor Tcheky Karyo, actor Gary Lewis, journalist Jean Claude Narcy and actresses Joely Richardson and Emily Woof.

From 4th to 7th October, they will judge the six films in competition, the winner of which will be awarded the Hitchcock d'Or worth FF20,000 towards distribution costs, and a FF10,000 bequest to the director. The Hitchcock d'Argent is awarded to the film selected by the public.

Co-sponsored this year for the first time by the UK's Film Council, with the British Council and together with the CNC, the festival will open on the evening of Thursday 4th October with a screening of Lucky Break.

On Friday 5th, the Film Council and the CNC will host the annual round table discussion group. In two parts this year, Film Council's John Woodward, Paul Trijbits (New Cinema Fund) and CNC's David Kessler and Marc Nicholas will lead a discussion on 'A British-French Film Exchange'.

Film Council's Jenny Borgars (Development Fund) and Sophie Bourdon of Ateliers du Cinema Europeen (ACE) will lead the second discussion group on 'Development: The Creative Process, Finance and Developing Corporate Infrastructures'.

The Gala Screening on the evening of Saturday 6th October will be the worldwide box-office hit, Bridget Jones's Diary.

Special screenings and tributes include a retrospective to the late Sir John Gielgud's work which will include screenings of Hitchcock's Secret Agent (1936), Orson Welles' Falstaff (1965), Resnais' Providence (1977), Steve Gordon's Arthur (1981) and Peter Greenaway's Prospero's Books (1991); an 'homage' to Jury President, Emily Watson, featuring von Trier's Breaking The Waves (1996), Sheridan's The Boxer (1997), Alan Parker's Angela's Ashes (1999); a "Gangster" special section, and a "Carte Blanche" section presented by producer Bertrand Faivre.

Commenting on this year's event, Thierry de la Fourniere, festival president, said: "At a time when the forecast for French cinema is good, far from making our national production more inward-looking, this regained confidence will undoubtedly encourage our professionals to become even more aware of outside influences. Our Festival has always aimed at arranging an encounter between British cinema and French audiences as well as between the professionals of these two countries. This twelfth edition of the Dinard British Film Festival is no exception, it promises to be rich and diverse, and should not be missed."

In Competition

Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
Dir: Stewart Sugg
Cast: Stellan Skarsgard, Chris Penn, Paul Bettany, Martine McCutcheon

Late Night Shopping
Dir: Saul Metzstein
Cast: Luke De Woolfson, James Lance, Kate Ashfield, Enzo Cilenti, Heike Makatsch

The Lawless Heart
Dir: Neil Hunter & Tom Hunsinger
Cast: Billy Nighy, Douglas Henshall, Tom Hollander, Sukie Smith

Me Without You
Dir: Sandra Goldbacher
Cast: Michelle Williams, Anna Friel, Kyle MacLachlan

On The Edge
Dir: John Carney
Cast: Cillian Murphy, Martin Carney, Paul Hickey, Camille O'Sullivan, Stephen Rea

The Warrior
Dir: Asif Kapadia
Cast: Irfan Khan, Puru Chhibber, Mandakini Goswami, Sunita Sharma, Noor Mani, Damayanti Marfatia


The Bunker
Dir: Rob Green
Cast: Jason Flemyng, Jack Davenport, Christopher Fairbank, Andrew Tiernan, Charley Boorman

Dir: John McKay
Cast: Andie MacDowell, Imelda Staunton, Anna Chancellor, Kenny Doughty, Bill Paterson

Dir: Milcho Manchevski
Cast: Adrian Lester, Joseph Fiennes, Anne Brochet, David Wenham

Gabriel & Me
Dir: Udayan Prasad
Cast: Iain Glen, David Bradley, Rosie Rowell, Billy Connolly, Sean Landless

High Heels And Low Lifes
Dir: Mel Smith
Cast: Minnie Driver, Mary McCormack, Kevin McNally, Michael Gambon

Last Orders
Dir: Fred Schepisi
Cast: Michael Caine, Bob Hoskins, Helen Mirren, David Hemmings, Tom Courtenay, Ray Winstone

Last Resort
Dir: Pawel Pawlikowski
Cast: Paddy Considine, Dina Korzun, Artium Strelnikov

Lucky Break (Opening Night)
Dir: Peter Cattaneo
Cast: James Nesbitt, Timothy Spall, Bill Nighy, Lennie James, Frank Harper, Ron Cook, Christopher Plummer, Olivia Williams

The Martins
Dir: Tony Grounds
Cast: Lee Evans, Kathy Burke, Linda Bassett

Mrs Caldicot's Cabbage War
Dir: Ian Sharp
Cast: Pauline Collins, John Alderton, Peter Capaldi

The Navigators
Dir: Ken Loach
Cast: Dean Andrews, Tom Craig, Joe Duttine, Steve Huison, Venn Tracey

Silent Grace
Dir/Prod: Maeve Murphy
Cast: Orla Brady, Cathleen Bradley, Cara Seymour, Conor Mullen, Rob Newman

Strictly Sinatra
Dir: Peter Capaldi
Cast: Ian Hart, Kelly MacDonald, Brian Cox, Alun Armstrong

Gangster Special Section

Mr Inbetween (Avant Premiere)
Dir: Paul Sarossy
Cast: David Calder, Saeed Jaffrey, Clive Russell, Andrew Howard, Geraldine O'Rawe, Mark Benton

Big Shots (documentary)
Dir: Nigel Algar

Get Carter (1971)
Dir: Mike Hodges

Carte Blanche
presented by producer Bertrand Faivre

The Warrior (In Competition)
Dir: Asif Kapadia

Dir: Lynne Ramsay