The professional body is changing its membership structure to attract a more diverse range of directors.

Directors UK CEO Andrew Chowns (pictured) has outlined changes to the industry body’s membership structure and a number of new board directors in a move that aims to make the body more inclusive.

Speaking at the organisation’s annual general meeting on Wednesday (November 10), he outlined plans to introduce an annual membership structure, which it is hoped will enable young directors working in all genres, including advertising, digital media and games as well as TV and film, to join.

He said: “Next year we will introduce an annual membership structure which will mean we can at last open our doors to membership to all directors, and not just those who benefit from our collection activities.”

The board of Directors UK, which represents over 4,000 screen directors, has also appointed new board members, and the election process changed to better reflect the diversity of its membership.

The new members are screenwriter and director Charles Sturridge; TV director Delyth Thomas; Peter Nicholson, the TV and film director;  writer and film producer and director Dan Clifton, Matt Lipsey, the TV director;  John Goldschmidt, the film producer and director, and film director Iain Softley.

The Directors UK executive consists of president Paul Greengrass, executive vice-chair Simon Berthon and vice-chair Tim Sullivan.

Directors UK, launched in 2008, was formerly the Directors and Producers Rights Society (DPRS), established in 1987.