Lumiere, Gutek heads assume co-presidency of European indies organisation; Romanian filmmaker Cristian Mungiu takes on Presidency of Honor role.

Annemie Degryse from distributor Lumière in Belgium and Jakub Duszynski from Gutek Film in Poland have been elected Europa Distribution co-presidents for three years, taking over from Régine Vial (Les Films du Losange, France) and Antonio Medici (Bim Distribuzione, Italy) who headed the association for the last 5 years.

The new Board of Administration is composed of 11 independent European distributors: Marie Booberg (Folkets Bio, Sweden), Annemie Degryse (Lumière, Belgium), Jakub Duszynski (Gutek Film, Poland), Laurent Dutoit (Agora, Switzerland), Edward Fletcher (Soda Pictures, UK), Svend Jensen (Arthaus, Norway), Emma Klopf (Prokino, Germany), Antonio Medici (Bim Distribuzione, Italy), Régine Vial (Les Films du Losange, France), Eric Vicente (Sophie Dulac Distribution, France) and Monika Weibel (Frenetic, Switzerland).

Romanian filmmaker Cristian Mungiu has accepted to take over the Presidency of Honor of the association, which held its General Assembly during the Paris Distribution Workshop on Tuesday [July 5].

Mungiu commented on his new position:“Europa Distributions reunites a lot of the European distributors that still believe in diversity, in auteur films and in risk-taking. I hope they will preserve this course of action in the future and they will keep encouraging the existence of independent cinema.

“We film people need to support them and I am glad and proud to be amongst the filmmakers that will be close to the cause of independent cinema.  They are our pledge that the films we make will have the life we wish for.”

Founded in 2006 Europa Distribution comprises 110 indie distributors from 26 countries.