European Film Promotion (EFP) is doubling the number of films that it is supporting at the upcoming Shanghai International Film Festival (June 13-21) by backing the marketing campaigns of 13 European titles.

The Shanghai fest has a strong interest in European films which are welcomed in China as an alternative to US content and dominate the festival’s competition section.

Among the 16 selected films from 16 countries competing for this year’s Jin Jue Award, 12 originate from Europe. Five of these are receiving support from EFP’s Film Sales Support (FSS) scheme.

“This year, we are definitely dealing with more applications,” said FSS project manager Susanne Davis. “We are therefore experiencing a growing interest of professionals from Europe to attend the festival and take advantage of the developing Chinese market.”

Films backed by FSS in competition are: Aching Hearts by Nils Malmros (Denmark), Chameleon by Krisztina Goda (Hungary), Normal by Julius Sevcik (Czech Republic/Macedonia), Original by Alexander Brondsted & Antonio Tublen (Sweden/Denmark) and The Storm In My Heart by Pal Jackman (Norway).

Other FSS supported films originate from Italy, Germany, Iceland and Austria. “FSS is of course important for films from smaller countries,” said Davis. “The financial incentive gives sales agents the chance to promote their films and to take first steps into the market.”

The following films and companies are receiving EFP support at SIFF:

Adriana Chiesa Enterprises (Italy)

Good Morning Heartache by Anna Negri (Italy, 2007)

Puccini And The Girl by Paolo Benvenuti (Italy, 2009)

Axman Production (Czech Republic)

Normal by Julius Sevcik (Czech Republic/Macedonia, 2009)

HungariCom (Hungary)

Chameleon by Krisztina Goda (Hungary, 2008)

Intramovies (Italy)

At A Glance by Sergio Rubini (Italy, 2008)

NonStop Sales (Sweden)

The Storm In My Heart by Pal Jackman (Norway, 2009)

Passport Pictures (Iceland)

SmallMountain by Einar Thor (Iceland/UK, 2008)

Riva Filmproduktion (Germany)

Ganz Nah Bei Dir by Almut Getto (Germany, 2008)

The Match Factory (Germany)

Jerichow by Christian Petzold (Germany, 2008)

Revanche by Gotz Spielmann (Austria 2008)

Dorfpunks by Lars Jessen (Germany 2009)

TrustNordisk (Denmark)

Original by Alexander Brondsted & Antonio Tublen (Denmark/Sweden, 2008)

Aching Hearts by Nils Malmros (Denmark 2009)