Shanghai International Film Festival (SIFF) has announced actress Andie MacDowell and Infernal Affairs director Andrew Lau will join the Jinjue Awards jury.

It has also announced that Korean film-maker Im Kwon-taek will lead the Asian New Talent Jury.

Jinjue competition jury

While Slumdog Millionaire director Danny Boyle was announced president of the Jinjue Awards jury in March, SIFF yesterday (May 25) announced six other jury members.

Apart from US actress Andie MacDowell and Hong Kong director Andrew Lau (Infernal Affairs), they are: Swiss director Xavier Koller (Gripsholm), Japanese actress Komaki Kurihara (The Man Who Wipes Mirrors), Chinese director and producer Huang Jianxin (The Warlords), and Korean producer Oh Jungwan (Woman On The Beach). 

The Jinjue jury will judge the 16 nominated films for eight award categories.

Asian New Talent jury

In the Asian New Talent Award section which recognizes first and second-time directors, jury president Im Kwon-taek will be joined by four other members. 

They are: Thai filmmaker Nonzee Nimibutr (Nang Nak), Royston Tan from Singapore (881), Chinese actress Yu Nan (Speed Racer) and Chinese filmmaker Zhu Wen (Seafood).

The jury will select Best Picture, Jury’s Grand Prix and Best Director from nine previously announced Asian films. The winner of the best director award will also receive the Technicolor Bangkok Award, which offers $20,000 worth of post-production services.

Besides Danny Boyle, another British filmmaker - Stephen Daldry (The Reader) will attend as a speaker for a SIFF forum hosted by Boyle. 

The 12th SIFF will run June 13 - 21.