Aaron Kwok secured best actor for the second consecutive year at the 43rd Golden Horse Awards in Taipei on Saturday night for his role in Patrick Tam's After This Our Exile.

The film also took best film and best supporting actor for child star Goum Ian Iskandar. Jackie Chan had previously won best actor two years in a row for Police Story 3 and Crime Story in the 1990s.

Perhaps Love scored more awards than Exile, with four prizes for best director (Peter Chan), best actress (Zhou Xun), best cinematography (Peter Pau) and best original song (Chris Shum). Chan's partner Sandra Ng both presented and received the directing award in one of the highlights of the evening.

No single film dominated this year's award ceremony, with Taiwan movies getting the majority of the prizes in technical categories. Cheng Yu-chieh's Venice entry Do Over took three statues including the Formosa Film Award, a controversial prize presented by the head of Taiwan's Government Information Office, Cheng Wen-tsan.

The only other films to secure more than one statue were Johnnie To's Exiled and Feng Xiaogang's The Banquet. To's contemporary spaghetti western took Audience Award and best action choregraphy, one of the evening's most competitive categories. Banquet's Tim Yip secured best art director and best make-up & costume design.

The only high-profile Chinese star to attend the award ceremony was Zhou Xun. Aaron Kwok, Carina Lau and Twins were the A-list stars from Hong Kong, with additional glamour provided by actress-singers Karen Mok and Coco Lee who both performed during the ceremony. Taiwan was represented with Kaneshiro Takeshi, Jay Chou and Vivian Hsu.

The local jury dominated by critics and academics was joined by two international film directors for the final selection process, Korea's Kim Sung-soo and Japan's Watanabe Takayoshi.


Best Feature Film:
Presenter: Takeshi Kaneshiro & John Woo
After This Our Exile (dir. Patrick Tam)

Best Director:
Presenter: Sandra Ng & Eric Tsang
Peter Chan (Perhaps Love)

Best Leading Actor:
Presenter: Chang Chen & Karen Mok
Aaron Kwok (After This Our Exile)

Best Leading Actress:
Presenter: Aaron Kwok & Charlie Young
Zhou Xun (Perhaps Love)

Best Supporting Actor:
Presenter: Angelica Lee and Zhou Xun
Goum Ian Iskander (After This Our Exile)

Best Supporting Actress:
Presenter: Vivian Hsu & Francis Ng
Nikki Shie (Reflections)

Best New Performer:
Presenter: Jay Chou & Anthony Wong
Bryant Chang (Eternal Summer)

Best Original Screenplay:
Presenter: Kubozuka Yosuke & Barbie Hsu ('Big S')
Ning Hao (Crazy Stone)

Best Screenplay Adaptation:
Presenter: Kubozuka Yosuke & Barbie Hsu ('Big S')
Ning Dai & Zhang Yuan (Little Red Flowers)

Best Cinematography:
Presenter: Ann Hui
Peter Pau (Perhaps Love)

Best Visual Effects:
Foo Sing-choong (Silk)

Best Art Direction:
Presenter: Wu Bai & Charlie Young
Tim Yip (The Banquet)

Best Make-up & Costume Design:
Presenter: Wu Bai & Charlie Young
Tim Yip (The Banquet)

Best Action Choreography:
Presenter: Tien Hsin & Chatman To
Ling Chun-pong & Wong Chi-wai (Exiled)

Best Original Film Score:
Presenter: Coco Lee
Lim Giong (Do Over)

Best Original Film Song:
Presenter: Coco Lee
Chris Shum (Perhaps Love)

Best Film Editing:
Presenter: Chang Chun-ning & Tsai Yueh-hsun
Chen Po-wen (Do Over)

Best Sound Effects:
Presenter: Terri Kwan & Eddie Pang
Tu Duu-chih, Guo Li-chi, Ke Yijun (amour-LEGENDE)

Best Documentary:
Presenter: Twins (Charlene Choi & Gillian Chung)
My Football Summer (dirs. Yang Li-chou & Chang Rong-ji)

Best Short Film:
Presenter: Twins (Charlene Choi & Gillian Chung)
The Secret in the Wind (Nell Wang)

Formosa Film Award:
Presenter: Cheng Wen-tsan & Kevin Chu
Do Over (Top Film Company & Leader Entertainment)

Formosa Filmmaker Award:
Presenter: Cheng Wen-tsan & Kevin Chu
Kuo Li-chi [sound editor]

Audience Award:
Presenter: Mike He & Madame Wang
Exiled (dir. Johnnie To)

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Presenter: Guey Lun-mei
Chen Tzu-fu [movie poster painter and collector]