The Karlovy Vary International Film Festival has announced the line-up of its grand jury, with Canadian producer Rock Demers chairing a seven-member panel for the Czech event.

Demers (pictured) leads a multinational team of seven judges including Indian director Buddhadeb Dasgupta (The Wrestlers); Czech actress Ana Geislerova (Return Of The Idiot); Icelandic actor and director Baltasar Kormakur (101 Reykjavik); Italian producer, festival director and screenwriter Felice Laudadio; Korean-American producer and director Sunmin Park (Too Pure); and Slovenian poet, editor and author Branko Somen.

The jury will decide on the $20,000 Grand Prix, with the festival set to announce films in the main competition two weeks prior to its July 4 opening. It is already known that Jan Hrebejk's Czech smash Pupendo and Juraj Nvota's Czech-Slovak co-production Cruel Joys will compete for the grand prize.

The festival will include retrospectives on Yasujiro Ozu, Amos Gitai and Maurice Pialat as well as tributes to legendary Czech director Jiri Menzel (Closely Observed Trains) and American director Joesph Strick, known for his James Joyce adaptations.

The documentary jury consists of Swedish director Gunnar Bergdahl (chair), Czech writer and director Ivan Vojnar, Dutch festival organiser Ludmila Cvikova, Russian film theorist and critic Elena Stisova, and Venezualan festival organiser and director Atahualpa Lichy.

Continuing its historical focus on films from the former Soviet bloc, Karlovy Vary will screen new films from the Baltics, Russia, Poland and the former Yugoslavia in its East of the West section.