Winner gets financial support from European Parliament.

Here at the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, the European Parliament unveiled the 10 films pre-selected to compete for the 2011 LUX Prize.

The LUX prize was established in 2007 as a sign of the EP’s commitment to European cinema. Members of European Parliament vote on the winner.

The award winner gets financial support from the EP to go towards subtitling in all the languages of the EU and production of a 35mm print or digital cinema package for each EU member state.

The three finalists will be unveiled on July 26 at the Venice Days press conference. Those three films will screen during Venice Days (Aug 31-Sept 10) and then the winner will be unveiled in November at a ceremony in Strasbourg.

The list was revealed at a reception Sunday evening attended by Ms Olga Sehnalova, member of the European
Parliament; director and past prize winner Feo Aladag, actress Sibel Kekilli (also serving on the KVIFF international jury) and Eva Zaoralova, artistic consultant of KVIFF and a new member of the LUX prize selection committee. Many of the films are screening this week in Karlovy Vary.

The 10 films competing are:

  • The Turin Horse by Bela Tarr (Hungary, France, Switzerland, Germany)
  • The Snows of Kilimanjaro by Robert Guédiguian (France)
  • Morgen by Marian Crisan (France, Romania, Hungary)
  • The Mysteries of Lisbon by Raúl Ruiz (Portugal)
  • Pina by Wim Wenders (Germany, France, UK)
  • Play by Ruben Östlund (Sweden, France, Denmark)
  • Attenberg by Athina Rachel Tsangari (Greece)
  • Essential Killing by Jerzy Skolimowski (Poland, Norway, Ireland, Hungary)
  • Habemus Papam by Nanni Moretti (Italy, France)
  • Le Havre by Aki Kaurismäki (Finland, France, Germany)