The independent producer is one of 8 new appointments to the board.

Michael Kuhn is one of eight new board members appointed to Northern Ireland Screen.

Kuhn built up the film studio Polygram Filmed Entertainment, before going on to found production company Qwerty Films. He served as Chair of the National Film and Television School from 2003 – 2010 as well as being a member of the board of governors of Robert Redford’s Sundance Institute and helped set up the Sundance Film Channel.

The other new board members are: Michael Catto, Adeline Dinsmore, Jennifer Johnston, Michael Kuhn, Fiona MacMillan, Aódán Mac Póilin, Laurence McKeown and Ian Parsley.

The appointments were announced by Northern Irish culture minister Ní Chuilín.

They replace outgoing board members Roger Austin, Terry Loane, Ruth McCance,Philip Morrow, Peter Quinn, Mairead Regan, Kate Smith and Anne Cormican, whose terms expired on December 31 2011.

Rick Hill (Chair), Brian McMahon (Vice-Chair), Maurice Hayes, Tim McKane and James Penny will continue to serve on the board.