The inaugural awards took place as part of the Minghella Film Festival on the Isle of Wight, which was set up in 2009 in memory of the late British director Anthony Minghella.

Russell Oastler and David Kinnaird picked up the Best Isle of Wight Film award for The Last Resort, their documentary about the effect of declining tourism on a community.  The Best International Documentary went to Norweigan film-maker Bjorn Bratberg for Wood Of Value, which follows the yearly journey of the Trafalgar Square Christmas tree.  

Melissa Osborne and Jeff McCutcheon’s film Change - about Barack Obama’s election and the passage of anti-gay marriage legislation Proposition 8 - won the award for Best International Drama.  Güclü Yaman’s Journey of No Return - Last Stop Frankfurt Airport, the true story of a Sudanese man who was deported from Germany, won for Best Human Rights Film.

The competition’s judges included actors Melvyn Hayes and Neve Mcintosh as well as filmmakers Graham Poultney, Bryony Young and Nicola Mills.

“Opening the competition to an international audience proved rewarding as the standard of entries was exceptionally high,” said organiser Bruce Webb. “The competition was a great success and we look forward to an even more successful international short film competition next year,” he added.

The third Minghella Film Festival ran from March 11-13 on the Isle Of Wight.