Tina Mabry’s Mississippi Damned won the juried outstanding US dramatic feature and Nicole Opper’s Off And Running won the corresponding documentary feature prize as Outfest 2009 came to a close.

Stian Kristiansen The Man Who Loved Yngve claimed the international feature award, Derrick L Middleton won best actor for Rivers Wash Over Me, Laura Harring took the actress prize for Drool, and E E Cassidy took the screenwriting prize for We Are The Mods.

Best narrative short went to Lee Mi-rang for The Bath, while Shaun Kadlec and Deb Tullman collected the documentary short prize for First And Loveliness.

Glenne McElhinney On These Shoulders We Stand won the Special Programming Award For Freedom, while the Special Programming Award For Artistic Achievement went to Andrew Haigh’s Greek Pete. The Outfest 2009 Special Programming Award for Emerging Talent went to George O’Donnell College Boys Live.

In the audience awards, Nacho G Velilla’s Chef’s Special won outstanding dramatic feature and the documentary prize went to Edie & Thea: A Very Long Engagement by Greta Olafsdottir and Susan Muska.

Cassidy’s We Are The Mods won outstanding first US feature and soundtrack honours. In the shorts categories, Christian Tafdrup’s Awakening took outstanding dramatic short and Mark Payne’s Get Happy took the outstanding documentary short.

The festival ran from July 9-19.