Playground - Copyrights DRAGONS FILMS copy

Source: Dragon Films


The Cannes Film Festival has named French actress Mélanie Thierry as jury president for the 2021 Caméra d’Or award reserved for all first features premiering across Official Selection and the parallel sections of Directors’ Fortnight and Critics’ Week. 

”Nothing is as fragile or as miraculous as a first movie. This testifies to the courage and the faith of all the directors who, after such a long period of seclusion, succeeded in providing us with a window on the outside world,” said Thierry, who will be also in Cannes as one of the stars of Arnaud and Jean-Marie Larrieu’s Midnight Screening title Tralala.

In keeping with the tradition of the prize, Thierry will be joined by representatives of France’s film profession bodies, a member of the film press and a guest artist.

The film profession jurors comprise Audrey Abiven, CEO of post-synchronisation specialist Tri-Track, for the Federation of Cinema and Audiovisual Industries (FICAM); director of photography Laurent Dailland, for cinematographer association AFC; director and screenwriter Romain Cogitore, for the Société des Réalisateurs de Films (SRF) and film critic Pierre-Simon Gutman for the French SFCC critics syndicate.

French actor and director Eric Caravaca is the guest artist. 

The Caméra d’Or was created in 1978. Past winners have included Jim Jarmusch, Mira Nair, Jaco Van Dormael, Naomi Kawase, Bahman Ghobadi, Steve McQueen, Houda Benyamina and Lukas Dhont.

The full list of eligible films for the 2021 Caméra d’Or 

Official Selection

Dir. C.B. Yi

Dir. Géssica Généus

Dir. Valdimar Jóhannsson

My Brothers And I|
Dir. Yohan Manca

La Civil
Dir. Teodora Ana Mihai

Gaey Wa’r
Dir. Na Jiazuo

Dir. Laura Wandel

Mi iubita, mon amour
Dir. Noémie Merlant

Les Héroïques
Dir. Maxime Roy

Are You Lonesome Tonight?
Dir. Wen Shipei

Critics’ Week

Anaïs In Love
Dir. Charline-Bourgeois-Tacquet

Bruno Reidal, Confessions Of A Murderer
Dir. Vincent Le Port

A Radiant Girl
Dir. Sandrine Kiberlain

Dir. Simón Mesa Soto

Dir. Omar El Zohairy

Dir. Clara Roquet

The Gravedigger’s Wife
Dir. Khadar Ayderus Ahmed

Dir. Elie Grappe

Dir. Constance Meyer

Small Body
Dir. Laura Samani

Zero Fucks Given
Dirs. Julie Lecoustre, Emmanuel Marre

Directors’ Fortnight

A Brighter Tomorrow
Dir. Yassine Qnia

Clara Sola
Dir. Nathalie Álvarez Mesen

The Hill Where Lionesses Roar
Dir. Luàna Bajrami

Hit The Road
Dir. Panah Panahi

Magnetic Beats
Dir. Vincent Maël Cardona

Dir. Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović

Neptune Frost (US-Rwa)
Dirs. Saul Williams, Anisia Uzeyman *

A Night Of Knowing Nothing
Dir. Payal Kapadia

The Sea Ahead
Dir. Ely Dagher

The Tale Of King Crab
Dirs. Alessio Rigo de Righi, Matteo Zoppis