cold war film4

Source: Film4

‘Cold War’

After winning best birector at Cannes Film Festival, Pawel Pawlikowski’s melodrama about love and modern European history leads the European Film Awards (EFA) nominations with five nods including for European film, director, actress (for Joanna Kulig), actor (for Tomasz Kot) and screenwriter (for Pawlikowski).

Cold War was followed closely by Dogman, Border and Happy As Lazzaro with four EFA nominations each. The latter three joined Cold War in being nominated for European film, director (Ali Abbasi for Border, Matteo Garrone for Dogman and Alice Rohrwacher for Happy As Lazzaro) and screenwriter. 

Like Pawlikowski, Rohrwacher was nominated on her own for Lazzaro’s screenplay, whereas Abbasi and Garrone were nominated alongside their co-writers.

Lukas Dhont’s Girl and Gustav Moller’s The Guilty each received three nominations. Both are up for the European Discovery award, alongside Berlin Golden Bear winner Touch Me Not, Scary Mother, One Day and Those Who Are Fine.

In the European actor and actress categories, those recognised for their performances alongside the two stars of Cold War include Marcello Fonte for Dogman, Eva Melander for Border, Halldora Geirhardsdottir for Woman At War, Victor Polster for Girl, Sverrir Gudnason for Borg/McEnroe and Rupert Everett for The Happy Prince

Following the announcement at the Seville European Film Festival, more than 3,500 EFA members will now vote for the winners. The awards will be handed out at the 31st European Film Awards in Seville on December 15.

As previously announced, Ralph Fiennes will receive the European Achievement in World Cinema award honouring his career as an actor and director. The Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Spanish actress Carmen Maura. She was the first actress to receive a best actress award in the first gala organised by the European Film Academy back in 1988, winning for Pedro Almodóvar’s Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown.

The full list of 2018 EFA nominations is here:


  • Border (Sweden, Denmark)
  • Cold War (Poland, UK, France)
  • Dogman (Italy, France)
  • Girl (Belgium, Netherlands)
  • Happy As Lazzaro (Italy, France, Germany, Switzerland)


  • C’Est La Vie (France)
  • Diamantino (Portugal, France, Brazil) 
  • The Death Of Stalin (France, UK, Belgium) 


  • Girl (Belgium, Netherlands)
  • One Day (Hungary)
  • Scary Mother (Georgia, Estonia)
  • The Guilty (Denmark)
  • Those Who Are Fine (Switzerland)
  • Touch Me Not (Romania, Germany, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, France)


  • A Woman Captured (Hungary, Germany)
  • Bergman – A Year In A Life (Sweden, Germany)
  • Of Fathers And Sons (Germany, Syria, Lebanon, Qatar)
  • The Distant Barking Of Dogs (Denmark, Finland, Sweden)
  • The Silence Of Others (Spain, US)


  • Another Day Of Life (Poland, Spain, Belgium, Hungary, Germany)
  • Early Man (UK)
  • The Breadwinner (Ireland, Canada, Luxembourg)
  • White Fang (France, Luxembourg)


  • Ali Abbasi, Border
  • Pawel Pawlikowski, Cold War 
  • Matteo Garrone, Dogman 
  • Samuel Maoz, Foxtrot
  • Alice Rorhwacher, Happy As Lazzaro


  • Eva Melander, Border
  • Joanna Kulig, Cold War 
  • Marie Baumer, 3 Days In Quiberon 
  • Barbara Lennie, Petra
  • Alba Rorhwacher, Happy As Lazzaro
  • Halldora Geirhardsdottir, Woman At War


  • Sverrir Gudnason, Borg/McEnroe
  • Tomasz Kot, Cold War 
  • Marcello Fonte, Dogman 
  • Victor Polster, Girl
  • Jakob Cedergren, The Guilty
  • Rupert Everett, The Happy Prince


  • Ali Abbasi, Isabelle Eklof & John Ajvide Lindqvist, Border
  • Pawel Pawlikowski, Cold War 
  • Matteo Garrone, Ugo Chiti & Massimo Gaudioso, Dogman 
  • Alice Rorhwacher, Happy As Lazzaro
  • Gustav Moller & Emil Nygaard AlbertsenThe Guilty 


  • Aquaparque (Portugal)
  • Burkina Brandenburg Komplex (Germany)
  • Graduation ’97 (Ukraine)
  • I Signed The Petition (UK, Germany, Switzerland)
  • Kapitalistis (Belgium, France) 
  • Kontener (Germany)
  • Meryem (Netherlands) 
  • Prisoner Of Society (Georgia, Latvia)
  • Release The Dogs (France, Belgium) 
  • Shame (Bulgaria) 
  • The Escape (France)
  • The Years (Italy, France)
  • Those Who Desire (Switzerland, Spain)
  • What’s The Damage (UK)
  • Wildebeest (Belgium)