Everything Everywhere At Once

Source: Allyson Riggs, Courtesy of A24

SXSW 2022 opening film ‘Everything Everywhere At Once’

The Daniels’ fantasy adventure Everything Everywhere All At Once boosted its profile even further with a best feature win at the 2022 Gotham Awards on a Monday night in New York when the UK’s Charlotte Wells took home the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award for her lauded father-daughter drama Aftersun.

In the first major awards ceremony of the season, Danielle Deadwyler beat out the likes of heavyweight Oscar contenders Cate Blanchett (TÁR) and Brendan Fraser (The Whale) in the gender-neutral acting categories to earn the lead performance award for portraying murdered youngster Emmett Till’s mother Mamie Till-Mobley in the 1950s-set civil rights drama Till. Ke Huy Quan from Everything Everywhere All At Once won the supporting actor award. Todd Field won the screenplay award for TÁR.

Audrey Diwan’s 2021 Venice Golden Lion winner Happening was named best international feature and Shaunak Sen’s All That Breathes claimed the documentary prize. Gracija Filipovic won breakthrough performer for her role in Cannes 2021 Camera d’Or winner Murina.

The competitive categories are a notable awards season statement for lower budget films and can reflect solid prospects at the Academy Awards. Last year’s lead and supporting acting winners Olivia Colman for The Lost Daughter and Troy Kotsur for Coda earned Oscar nods, with Kotsur going on to win the Academy Award. 2021 documentary winner Flee also landed an Oscar nod.

Career Tributes went to Michelle Williams (presented by her The Fabelmans co-star Paul Dano in the absence of director Steven Spielberg, who had Covid) and Adam Sandler (presented by the Safdie Brothers); The Woman King director Gina Prince-Bythewood (presented by Kathryn Bigelow); and the Industry Tribute to Focus Features chairman Peter Kujawski and vice chairman Jason Cassidy (presented by James Gray and Todd Field).

Jesse Tyler Ferguson presented an Ensemble Tribute to the cast of Fire Island, while an Impact Tribute went to Venice International Film Festival and its director Alberto Barbera (presented by Julianne Moore and Todd Haynes).

The second annual Icon Tribute (presented by Gotham board member Jonathan Majors) went to the late Sidney Poitier, whose family members Anika, Pamela and Sherri Poitier accepted the honour. Majors also announced the creation of The Gotham Sidney Poitier Initiative encompassing mentorship, scholarship, project funding, and career advancement. 

Nominees in each category appear below in bold.

Full list of Gotham 2022 winners

Best Feature

Aftersun (A24)
The Cathedral (Mubi)
Dos Estaciones (Cinema Guild)
Everything Everywhere All At Once (A24)
Tár (Focus Features)

Best Documentary Feature

All That Breathes (A Sideshow & Submarine Deluxe Release in Association with HBO Documentary Films)
All The Beauty And The Bloodshed (Neon)
I Didn’t See You There (RePort Media)
The Territory (National Geographic Documentary Films)
What We Leave Behind (Array)

Best International Feature

Athena (Netflix)
The Banshees Of Inisherin (Searchlight Pictures)
Corsage (IFC Films)
Decision To Leave (Mubi)
Happening (IFC Films)
Saint Omer (Super Ltd)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Charlotte Wells, Aftersun (A24)
Owen Kline, Funny Pages (A24)
Elegance Bratton, The Inspection (A24)
Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic, Murina (Kino Lorber)
Beth de Araújo, Soft & Quiet (Momentum Pictures/eOne)
Jane Schoenbrun, We’re All Going To The World’s Fair (Utopia)

Best Screenplay

After Yang, Kogonada (A24)
Armageddon Time, James Gray (Focus Features)
Catherine Called Birdy, Lena Dunham (Amazon Studios)
TÁR, Todd Field (Focus Features)
Women Talking, Sarah Polley, based upon the book by Miriam Toews (UAR /Orion Pictures)

Outstanding Lead Performance

Cate Blanchett, TÁR (Focus Features)
Danielle Deadwyler, Till (United Artists Releasing / Orion Pictures)
Dale Dickey, A Love Song (Bleecker Street)
Colin Farrell, After Yang (A24)
Brendan Fraser, The Whale (A24)
Paul Mescal, Aftersun (A24)
Thandiwe Newton, God’s Country (IFC Films)
Aubrey Plaza, Emily The Criminal (Roadside Attractions/Vertical Entertainment)
Taylor Russell, Bones And All (UAR/MGM)
Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All At Once (A24)

Outstanding Supporting Performance

Jessie Buckley, Women Talking (UAR/Orion Pictures)
Raúl Castillo, The Inspection (A24)
Hong Chau, The Whale (A24)
Brian Tyree Henry, Causeway (Apple TV+)
Nina Hoss, TÁR (Focus Features)
Noémie Merlant, TÁR (Focus Features)
Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All At Once (A24)
Mark Rylance, Bones And All (UAR/MGM)
Gabrielle Union, The Inspection (A24)
Ben Whishaw, Women Talking (UAR / Orion Pictures)

Breakthrough Performer

Anna Cobb, We’re All Going To The World’s Fair (Utopia)
Frankie Corio, Aftersun (A24)
Anna Diop, Nanny (Amazon Studios and Blumhouse)
Gracija Filipovic, Murina (Kino Lorber)
Kalie Reis, Catch The Fair One (IFC Films)

Breakthrough Series – Short Format (under 40 minutes)

Abbott Elementary, Quinta Brunson, creator (ABC)
As We See It, Jason Katims, creator (Prime Video)
Mo, Mohammed Amer, Ramy Youssef, creators (Netflix)
Rap Sh!t, Issa Rae, creator (HBO/HBO Max)
Somebody Somewhere, Hannah Bos, Paul Thureen, creators (HBO Max)

Breakthrough Series – Long Format (over 40 minutes)

Pachinko, Soo Hugh, creato (Apple TV+)
Severance, Dan Erickson, creator (Apple TV+)
Station Eleven, Patrick Somerville, creator (HBO/HBO Max)
This Is Going To Hurt, Adam Kay, creator (AMC+ in association with BBC)
Yellowjackets, Ashley Lyle, Bart Nickerson, creators (Showtime)

Outstanding Performance in a New Series

Bilal Baig, Sort Of (HBO Max/HBO)
Ayo Edebiri, The Bear (FX)
Janelle James, Abbott Elementary (ABC)
Minha Kim, Pachinko (Apple TV+)
Matilda Lawler, Station Eleven (HBO/HBO Max)
Britt Lower, Severance (HBO/HBO Max)
Melanie Lynskey, Yellowjackets (Showtime)
Zahn McClarnon, Dark Winds (AMC & AMC+)
Sue Ann Pien, As We See It (Prime Video)
Ben Whishaw, This Is Going To Hurt (AMC+ in association with BBC)

Breakthrough Nonfiction Series

The Andy Warhol Diaries (Netflix)
The Last Movie Stars (HBO Max/CNN Films)
Mind over Murder (HBO/HBO Max)
The Rehearsal (HBO Max)
We Need To Talk About Cosby (Showtime)