Everything Everywhere At Once

Source: Allyson Riggs, Courtesy of A24

SXSW 2022 opening film ‘Everything Everywhere At Once’

A24’s Everything Everywhere All At Once has dominated the 2023 Spirit Awards, claiming seven of the eight awards it was nominated for including film, director for the Daniels, and lead and supporting performance for Michelle Yeoh and Ke Huy Quan, respectively.

As awards season nears its climax, the madcap multiverse adventure heads into next weekend’s Oscars as the clear frontrunner for major honours after a triumphant Saturday evening under the traditional Film Independent tent on the beach in Santa Monica.

This follows major wins at three of the four US guilds awards – the Writers Guild Of America hosts its ceremony on Sunday – and the Critics Choice Awards.

Final Oscar voting is underway and ends on Tuesday (March 7). The 95th Academy Awards are on Sunday March 12.

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert also earned best screenplay, while Stephanie Hsu won for best breakthrough performance and Paul Rogers took the editing award.

Only Everything’s Jamie Lee Curtis, who won the female supporting SAG Award last weekend, missed out as she was nominated alongside Oscar favourite Quan in the gender-neutral supporting performance category.

In other awards, Florian Hoffmeister won best cinematography for Focus Features’ Tár, Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun (A24) won best first feature, Joyland (Oscilloscope) best international film, and All The Beauty And The Bloodshed (Neon) best documentary.

Winners appear below in bold.


Best feature (award given to the producer)

  • Bones And All, dir. Luca Guadagnino; prods. Timothée Chalamet, Francesco Melzi d’Eril, Luca Guadagnino, David Kajganich, Lorenzo Mieli, Marco Morabito, Gabriele Moratti, Theresa Park, Peter Spears
  • Everything Everywhere All At Once, dirs. Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert; prods. Daniel Kwan, Mike Larocca, Anthony Russo, Joe Russo, Daniel Scheinert, Jonathan Wang
  • Our Father, The Devil, dir. Ellie Foumbi; prods. Ellie Foumbi, Joseph Mastantuono
  • Tár, dir. Todd Field, prods. Todd Field, Scott Lambert, Alexandra Milchan
  • Women Talking, dir. Sarah Polley; prods. Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Frances McDormand

Best first feature

  • Aftersun, dir. Charlotte Wells
  • Emily The Criminal, dir. John Patton Ford
  • The Inspection, dir. Elegance Bratton
  • Murina, dir. Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović
  • Palm Trees And Power Lines, dir Jamie Dack

John Cassavetes award 

  • The African Desperatedir. Martine Syms
  • A Love Song, dir. Max Walker-Silverman
  • The Cathedral, dir. Ricky D’Ambros
  • Holy Emy, dir. Araceli Lemos
  • Something In The Dirt, dirs. Justin Benson, Aaron Moorhead 

Best director

  • Todd Field, Tár
  • Kogonada, After Yang
  • Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Sarah Polley, Women Talking
  • Halina Reijn, Bodies Bodies Bodies

Best screenplay

  • Lena Dunham, Catherine Called Birdy
  • Todd Field, Tár
  • Kogonada, After Yang
  • Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Sarah Polley, Women Talking

Best first screenplay

  • Joel Kim Booster, Fire Island
  • Jamie Dack, Audrey Findlay, Story by Jamie Dack, Palm Trees And Power Lines
  • K.D. Dávila, Emergency
  • Sarah DeLappe, Story by Kristen Roupenian, Bodies Bodies Bodies
  • John Patton Ford, Emily The Criminal

Best lead performance

  • Cate Blanchett, Tár
  • Dale Dickey, A Love Song
  • Mia Goth, Pearl
  • Regina Hall, Honk For Jesus. Save Your Soul.
  • Paul Mescal, Aftersun
  • Aubrey Plaza, Emily The Criminal
  • Jeremy Pope, The Inspection
  • Andrea Riseborough, To Leslie
  • Taylor Russell, Bones And All
  • Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best supporting performance

  • Jamie Lee Curtis, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Brian Tyree Henry, Causeway
  • Nina Hoss, Tár
  • Brian d’Arcy James, The Cathedral
  • Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Trevante Rhodes, Bruiser
  • Theo Rossi, Emily The Criminal
  • Mark Rylance, Bones And All
  • Jonathan Tucker, Palm Trees And Power Lines
  • Gabrielle Union, The Inspection

Best breakthrough performance (new award)

  • Frankie Corio, Aftersun
  • Gracija Filipović, Murina
  • Stephanie Hsu, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Lily McInerny, Palm Trees And Power Lines
  • Daniel Zolghadri, Funny Pages

Best cinematography

  • Florian Hoffmeister, Tár
  • Hélène Louvart, Murina
  • Gregory Oke, Aftersun
  • Eliot Rockett, Pearl
  • Anisia Uzeyman, Neptune Frost

Best editing

  • Ricky D’Ambrose, The Cathedral
  • Dean Fleischer Camp, Nick Paley, Marcel The Shell With Shoes On
  • Blair McClendon, Aftersun
  • Paul Rogers, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Monika Willi, Tár

Robert Altman award 

  • Women Talkingdir. Sarah Polley

Best documentary (Award given to the director and producer)

  • All That Breathes, dir. Shaunak Sen
  • All The Beauty And The Bloodshed, dir. Laura Poitras
  • A House Made Of Splinters, dir. Simon Lereng Wilmont
  • Midwives, dir. Snow Hnin Ei Hlaing
  • Riotsville, U.S.A., dir. Sierra Pettengill

Best international film

  • Corsage (Aust-Lux-Fr-Bel-It-Eng), dir. Marie Kreutzer
  • Joyland (US-Pakistan), dir. Saim Sadiq
  • Leonor Will Never Die (Phil), dir. Martika Ramirez Escobar
  • Return To Seoul (S. Kor-Fr-Bel-Rom), dir. Davy Chou
  • Saint Omer (Fr), dir. Alice Diop

Producers award

  • Liz Cardenas
  • Tory Lenosky
  • David Grove Churchill Viste

Someone To Watch award

  • Adamma Ebo, Honk For Jesus. Save Your Soul.
  • Nikyatu Jusu, Nanny
  • Araceli Lemos, Holy Emy

Truer Than Fiction award

  • Isabel Castro, Mija
  • Reid Davenport, I Didn’t See You There
  • Rebeca Huntt, Beba



Best New Scripted Series

The Bear 


Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

The Rehearsal 


Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series

Ayo Edebiri, The Bear 


Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Quinta Brunson, Abbott Elementary 


Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series