Film Independent has selected 33 filmmakers for its annual diversity mentorship program, Project:Involve. The program is dedicated to fostering the careers of filmmakers from communities traditionally under represented in the industry.

The program runs annually from October to June, during which time participants create a short film, are assigned one-on-one film industry mentors, and get access to production-based master workshops taught by film professionals.

Last year, Film Independent initiated an Industry Track section that opened up the program to those planning to work in the film industry as agents/managers, development executives, acquisitions/distribution executives and in marketing.

When they complete the program participants become Film Independent Fellows. Past fellows from Project:Involve include producer Effie T Brown (Rocket Science), Jon Chu (Step Up 3D), Cherien Dabis (Amreeka), Eric Nazarian (The Blue Hour), Nick Oceano (Pedro), Jennifer Phang (Half-Life) and Tze Chun (Children of Invention).

Participating this year in the program’s producer section are Natasha Atalla, Frances E Chang, Jana Diaz, Juhl Joy Ganes, Nicole Vinnola and Sandra Varona.

Director participants are Ted Chung, Dalila Droege, Tani Ikeda, Logan Kibens, Raymond Lai, Courtney Marsh, Anthony Onah, and Geoffrey Quan. Writer/directors are Huy Chau, Daniel Davila, David Martin-Porras, Andres Torres-Vives and Tony Wei.

In the cinematographer section are Carmen Cabana, Eunsoo Cho, Nausheen Dadabhoy, Roberto Gudino and Richard Kim.

Screenwriters are Tasha Moore, Stacey Parshall Jensen and Lex White.

Cristina Malavenda is participating as an editor.

This year’s Industry Track/Development participants are Natalie Arps-Bumbera and Ebyan Bihi. Industry Track/Acquisitions & Distribution participants are Christopher and Chou Carl Martin. Mercedes Cooper is in the Industry Track/Marketing section.