Yi miao zhong One Second c Huanxi Media Group

Source: Huanxi Media Group

Yi miao zhong (One Second)

The final titles for the Berlin International Film Festival Competition and Berlianle Special sections have been announced.

The new competition additions are world premieres of Zhang Yimou’s One Second, André Téchiné’s Farewell To The Night, Nadav Lapid’s Synonyms, the German premiere of Vice, and the European premiere of Aretha Franklin documentary Amazing Grace.

Of the new titles, Farewell To The Night, Alan Elliott’s Amazing Grace and Vice will play out of competition. 17 of the 23 films in the Competition section will be in contention for the Golden Bear and Silver Bears, with 20 world premieres. 


Farewell to the Night
France / Germany
by André Téchiné (Being 17, In the Name of My Daughter, The Witnesses)
with Catherine Deneuve, Kacey Mottet Klein, Oulaya Amamra, Stéphane Bak, Mohamed Djouhri
World premiere - Out of competition

Amazing Grace - Documentary
Realised by Alan Elliott from original 1972 Warner Bros. footage
European premiere – Out of competition

France / Israel / Germany
by Nadav Lapid (Policeman, From the Diary of a Wedding Photographer, The Kindergarten Teacher)
with Tom Mercier, Quentin Dolmaire, Louise Chevillotte
World premiere

by Adam McKay (The Big Short)
wih Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Steve Carell, Sam Rockwell, Tyler Perry
German premiere – Out of competition

One Second
by Zhang Yimou (Red Sorghum, The Road Home, A Woman, a Gun and a Noodle Shop)
with Zhang Yi, Fan Wei
World premiere

Berlinale Special at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele

Peter Lindbergh - Women Stories - Documentary
by Jean Michel Vecchiet (Vies et morts d’Andy Warhol, Basquiat, une vie, 6 juin 1944, ils étaient les premiers)
World premiere

Berlinale Special Gala at the Friedrichstadt-Palast

India / Germany / US
by Ritesh Batra (The Lunchbox, Our Souls at Night, The Sense of an Ending)
with Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Sanya Malhotra, Farrukh Jaffar, Geetanjali Kulkarni, Vijay Raaz, Jim Sarbh, Akash Sinha, Saharsh Kumar Shukla
European premiere

You Only Live Once - Die Toten Hosen on Tour)- Documentary
by Cordula Kablitz-Post (Christoph Schlingensief – Die Piloten, Nina Hagen - Godmother of Punk, Lou Andreas-Salomé: The Audacity to be Free) concert director Paul Dugdale (Taylor Swift: Reputation Stadium Tour, The Rolling Stones Olé, Olé, Olé!: A Trip Across Latin America, Adele Live at the Royal Albert Hall)
World premiere

The full list of Competition films:

  • L’adieu à la nuit (Farewell to the Night) by André Téchiné (France / Germany) – Out of competition
  • Amazing Grace realised by Alan Elliott (USA) – Documentary, out of competition
  • Der Boden unter den Füßen (The Ground beneath My Feet) by Marie Kreutzer (Austria)
  • Di jiu tian chang (So Long, My Son) by Wang Xiaoshuai (People’s Republic of China)
  • Elisa y Marcela (Elisa & Marcela) by Isabel Coixet (Spain)
  • Der Goldene Handschuh (The Golden Glove) by Fatih Akin (Germany / France)
  • Gospod postoi, imeto i’ e Petrunija (God Exists, Her Name is Petrunya) by Teona Strugar Mitevska (Macedonia / Belgium / Slovenia / Croatia / France)
  • Grâce à Dieu (By the Grace of God) by François Ozon (France)
  • Ich war zuhause, aber (I Was at Home, But) by Angela Schanelec (Germany / Serbia)
  • The Kindness of Strangers by Lone Scherfig (Denmark / Canada / Sweden / Germany / France) – Opening film
  • Kız Kardeşler (A Tale of Three Sisters) by Emin Alper (Turkey / Germany / Netherlands / Greece)
  • Marighella by Wagner Moura (Brazil) – Out of competition
  • Mr. Jones by Agnieszka Holland (Poland / United Kingdom / Ukraine)
  • Öndög by Wang Quan’an (Mongolia)
  • The Operative by Yuval Adler (Germany / Israel / France / USA) – Out of competition
  • La paranza dei bambini (Piranhas) by Claudio Giovannesi (Italy)
  • Répertoire des villes disparues (Ghost Town Anthology) by Denis Côté (Canada)
  • Synonymes (Synonyms) by Nadav Lapid (France / Israel / Germany)
  • Systemsprenger (System Crasher) by Nora Fingscheidt (Germany)
  • Ut og stjæle hester (Out Stealing Horses) by Hans Petter Moland (Norway / Sweden / Denmark)
  • Varda par Agnès (Varda by Agnès) by Agnès Varda (France) – Documentary, out of competition
  • Vice by Adam McKay (USA) – Out of competition
  • Yi miao zhong (One Second) by Zhang Yimou (People’s Republic of China)