Last year’s Venice Golden Lion winner will head Locarno’s main jury; Syrian director Ossama Mohammed will lead the Filmmakers of the Present competition jury.

Locarno has confirmed the juries for its 67th edition.

Italian director Gianfranco Rosi, who won the Golden Lion in Venice in 2013 for his documentary Sacro GRA – is to head up the festival’s International Competition jury.

He will be joined by German filmmaker Thomas Arslan, Brazilian actress Alice Braga, Danish actress Connie Nielsen and Chinese director Diao Yinan, winner of the Golden Bear at the last Berlin Festival for Black Coal, Thin Ice.

Meanwhile, Syrian director Ossama Mohammed has been named as president of the jury for the Filmmakers of the Present Competition for first and second films.

Mohammed, whose Silvered Water, Syria Self-Portrait was one of most widely acclaimed films at Cannes this year, will be joined by Thierry Jobin, the Swiss Artistic Director of the Fribourg Festival, Canadian writer director and actor Don McKellar, French actress Clémence Poésy and French/Hong Kong editor Mary Stephen.

The jury for the Leopards of Tomorrow section, (for shorts by filmmakers who have not yet made features) will be presided over by Dutch actor Rutger Hauer. His fellow jury members will be Brazilian director and programmer Helvécio Marins Jr, Spanish filmmaker Lois Patiño, Ukrainian director Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy and Swiss director Nicole Vögele.

The award for the Best First Film, chosen from those screened across the festival, will be judged by critics and programmers Emmanuel Burdeau (France), Luciano Monteagudo (Argentina) and Andréa Picard (Canada).

The complete line-up for festival will be announced on July 16.