Jason Blum

Source: © Gage Skidmore

Jason Blum

Producer Jason Blum, actor Marlee Matlin and director Jason Reitman are among the big industry names elected for the first time to the board of the US Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS). 

Revealing the line-up of its newly elected 2022-2023 board of governors, AMPAS reported that the board now compromises 54% women and 28% governors from underrepresented racial or ethnic groups. 

Along with Blum, Matlin and Reitman, other first-time governors are Richard Hicks, from the Academy’s casting directors branch, Dion Beebe (cinematographers branch), Chris Hegedus (documentary branch), Nancy Richardson (film editors branch), Megan Colligan (marketing and public relations branch), Missy Parker (production design branch), Marlon West (short films and feature animation branch), Peter Devlin (sound branch) and Paul Debevec (visual effects branch). 

Incumbent governors reelected to the board are Ruth E Carter (costume designers branch), Donna Gigliotti (executives branch), Howard Berger (makeup artists and hairstylists branch) and Eric Roth (writers branch). 

Returning to the board after a hiatus is Charles Fox (music branch). 

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors who can serve up to two, three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive). After a two-year hiatus, former governors are eligible for another one or two three-year terms, with a lifetime maximum of 12 years on the board.