Cameraimage 2018

Source: Cameraimage

The Fortress cinematographer Ji-yong Kim won the Golden Frog in main competition at Camerimage, the international film festival for the art of cinematography.

Scroll down for full list of winners

The 26th edition was held in Bydgoszcz, Poland from November 10 - 17.

The Fortress, directed by Dong-hyuk Hwang, tells the story of the second Manchu invasion of Korea in 1636. Ji-yong Kim was also awarded the best cinematographer award at this year’s Asian Film Awards.

Polish cinematographer Lukasz Zal won the Silver Frog for Pawel Pawlikowski’s black-and-white drama Cold War, Poland’s official foreign language Oscar entry.

The Bronze Frog went to Alfonso Cuaron, who was writer, director and cinematographer for Netflix’s ROMA, shot on large format digital 65mm. Cuaron took over lensing duties after Emmanuel Lubezki became unavailable.

Now in its second year, the Camerimage Fipresci award for director of the best film in the main competition went to Mike Leigh for Peterloo. Cinematographer Dick Pope accepted the award.

Also in its second year, the audience award went to Yorgos Lanthimos’ dark comedy The Favourite. Irish cinematographer Robbie Ryan shot the film. He has previously won the festival’s music video award for Paolo Nutini’s Iron Sky.

Earlier in the festival’s opening ceremony, honourary awards were handed out to Polish DoP Witold Sobocinski, with surprise guest Roman Polanski on hand to give the award to his lifelong friend. Sobocinski’s work includes Polanski’s Frantic, The Gateway Of Europe, O-Bi, O-Ba – The End of Civilisation and The Promised Land.

Carol Littleton, wife of Academy president John Bailey, was also honoured for her editing work on films such as E.T., The Big Chill, The Manchurian Candidate and Silverado.

The best TV pilot award went to James Friend for Patrick Melrose: Bad News. Previewing on Sky Atlantic in the UK in May, the drama is directed by Edward Berger and stars Benedict Cumberbatch.

The event wrapped with festival director Marek Zydowicz saying the week had been “difficult, with all kinds of crisis situations,” and thanking everyone who had helped him.

He was in part referring to A Star is Born cinematographer Matthew Libatique, who was detained on Tuesday November 13 after allegedly assaulting both a paramedic and policeman.

Zydowicz also announced that Bydgoszcz has cut the festival’s funding by 25 percent, leaving next year’s location uncertain. The festival has taken place in the city since 2010.

The full list of winners are below:

Man competition

Golden Frog
The Fortress, cin. Ji-yong Kim, dir. Dong-hyuk Hwang 

Silver Frog
Cold War, cin. Łukasz Żal, dir. Paweł Pawlikowski

Bronze Frog
Roma, cin. Alfonso Cuarón, dir. Alfonso Cuarón

Fipresci Award
Peterloo, cin. Dick Pope, dir. Mike Leigh

Audience Award
The Favourite, cin. Robbie Ryan, dir. Yorgos Lanthimos

Best Polish Film
Nina, cin. Tomasz Naumiuk, dir. Olga Chajdas

Honorary awards

Lifetime Achievement Award
Witold Sobocinski

Cinematographer-Director Duo
cin. Jean-Marie Dreujou, dir. Jean-Jacques Annaud

Carol Littleton

Music Videos
cin: Julien Temple 

Student Etudes Competition

Golden Tadpole
Sirene, Cin. Douwe Hennink, Dir. Zara Dwinger, School: Nederlandse Filmacademie - Netherlands Film Academy (Ahk)

Silver Tadpole
Almost Everything, Cin. Simon Bitterli, Dir. Lisa Gertsch, School: Zürcher Hochschule Der Künste - Zurich University Of The Arts (Zhdk) 

Bronze Tadpole
Them, cin. Holger Jungnickel, Dir. Tim Dünschede, School: Deutsche Film- Und Fernsehakademie Berlin - German Film And Television Academy (Dffb), Hochschule Für Fernsehen Und Film München - University Of Television And Film Munich (Hff München), Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg Gmbh 

Documentary Features Competition

Golden Frog - Best Documentary Feature
When The Bull Cried, cin. Karen Vázquez Guadarrama, dir. Bart Goossesn, Karen Vázquez Guadarrama

Golden Frog - Best Docudrama
I, Dolours, cin. Kate Mccullough, dir. Maurice Sweeney

Documentary Shorts Competition

Golden Frog - Grand Prix
Horse Riders, cin. Tomasz Wolski, dir. Anna Gawlita 

Special Mention
Pain Is Mine, cin. Farshid Akhlaghi, dir. Farshid Akhlaghi 

Directors’ Debuts Competition

Best Director’s Debut
The Guilty, cin. Jasper J. Spanning, dir. Gustav Möller 

Cinematographers’ Debuts Competition

Best Cinematographer’s Debut
Obey, cin. Albert Salas, dir. Jamie Jones 

Music Videos Competition

Best Music Video
Novo Amor Birthplace, cin. Nihal Friedel, dir. Jorik Dozy, Sil Van Der Woerd 

Best Cinematography In A Music Video
Childish Gambino This Is America, cin. Larkin Seiple, dir. Hiro Murai

First Look - TV Pilots Competition

Best TV Pilot
Patrick Melrose: Bad News, cin. James Friend, dir. Edward Berger