Source: Locarno Film Festival


The Locarno Film Festival (August 3-13) has revealed the line-up for its 75th edition, which includes the world premiere of Russian filmmaker Aleksandr Sokurov’s Fairytale.

The international competition will comprise 17 films, including 10 world premieres, which will vie for the coveted Golden Leopard awards.

Scroll down for full line-up

These titles include Fairytale, a Belgium-Russia co-production written and directed by Sokurov, whose films have played in Competition at Cannes five times with features including Russian Ark in 2002. His debut The Lonely Voice Of a Man received the Bronze Leopard in Locarno in 1987.

The competition line-up also includes Sermon To The Fish from Azerbaijan director Hilal Baydarov, whose In Between Dying played in competition at Venice 2020 and whose documentary When The Persimmons Grew won best documentary at Sarajevo in 2019.

Further premieres include Matter Out Of Place by Austria’s Nikolaus Geyrhalter, whose documentary Erde won Berlin’s Ecumenical Jury prize in 2019; and Rule 34 from Brazil’s Julia Murat, whose 2017 feature Pendular won the Fipresci prize at Berlin in 2017.

The international competition jury will be presided over by Swiss producer Michel Merkt and includes directors Laura Samani, Prano Bailey-Bond and Alain Guiraudie, and producer William Horberg.

The festival’s second main competition strand, Filmmakers of the Present, has world premieres of 15 first or second features by filmmakers from the US, Thailand, France and Ukraine among others.

In addition, this year’s Piazza Grande open-air programme of 17 titles includes David Leitch’s Bullet Train, starring Brad Pitt, which will open the festival on August 3 and Olivia Newman’s Where The Crawdads Sing.

The festival will screen 226 features and shorts, from 113 countries, having received 4,245 submissions. Screenings at Locarno75 will all be physical events, held in Piazza Grande – holding an audience of up to 8,000 – and in the lakeside town’s 13 theatres. It marks the second edition of the festival under artistic director Giona A. Nazzaro.

As previously announced, Locarno will hand out several honorary awards including lifetime achievement awards for Greek-French director Costa-Gavras and US actor Matt Dillon, a best independent producer award for US genre film producer Jason Blum and an honorary Golden Leopard to US indie director Kelly Reichardt.

Concorso internazionale 2022

Declaration (India)
Dir. Mahesh Narayanan

Sermon To The Fish (Azerbaijan-Mex-Switz-Turk)
Dir. Hilal Baydarov

Bowling Saturne (Fr-Bel)
Dir. Patricia Mazuy

De Noche Los Gatos Son Pardos (Switz)
Dir. Valentin Merz

Gigi La Legge (It-Fr-Bel)
Dir. Alessandro Comodin

Tales Of The Purple House (Leb-Iraq-Fr)
Dir. Abbas Fahdel

Human Flowers Of Flesh (Ger-Fr)
Dir. Helena Wittmann

Il Pataffio (It-Bel)
Dir. Francesco Lagi

Matter Out Of Place (Austria)
Dir. Nikolaus Geyrhalter

Tommy Guns (Port-Fr-Angola)
Dir. Carlos Conceição

Piaffe (Ger)
Dir. Ann Oren

Rule 34 (Bra-Fr)
Dir. Julia Murat

Serviam – Ich Will Dienen (Austria)
Dir. Ruth Mader

Fairytale (Bel-Rus)
Dir. Aleksandr Sokurov

Stella Est Amoureuse (Fr)
Dir. Sylvie Verheyde

Stone Turtle (Malay)
Dir. Ming Jin Woo

Tengo Sueños Eléctricos (Bel-Fr-Costa)
Dir. Valentina Maurel

Concorso Cineasti del presente 2021

A Perfect Day For Caribou (US)
Dir. Jeff Rutherford 25

Arnold Is A Model Student (Thai-Sing-Fr-Neth-Phil)
Dir. Sorayos Prapapan

Astrakan (Fr)
Dir. David Depesseville

Before I Change My Mind (Can)
Dir. Trevor Anderson

Sister, What Grows Where Land Is Sick? (Nor)
Dir. Franciska Eliassen

It Is Night In America (It-Fr-Bra)
Dir. Ana Vaz

Fragments From Heaven (Mor-Fr)
Dir. Adnane Baraka

Love Dog (Pol-Mex-US)
Dir. Bianca Lucas

Matadero (Arg-Sp-Fr)
Dir. Santiago Fillol

Our Lady Of The Chinese Shop (Angola)
Dir. Ery Claver

Petites (Fr)
Dir. Julie Lerat-Gersant

Petrol (Australia)
Dir. Alena Lodkina

Safe Place (Cro)
Dir. Juraj Lerotić

Nightsiren (Slovak-Czech)
Dir. Tereza Nvotová

How Is Katia? (Ukr)
Dir. Christina Tynkevych

Piazza Grande

Bullet Train (US)
Dir. David Leitch

My Neighbor Adolf (Isr-Pol-Col)
Dir. Leon Prudovsky

Where The Crawdads Sing (US)
Dir. Olivia Newman

Piano Piano (It)
Dir. Nicola Prosatore

Paradise Highway (US-Ger-Switz)
Dir. Anna Gutto

Medusa Deluxe (UK)
Dir. Thomas Hardiman

Delta (It)
Dir. Michele Vannucci

Printed Rainbow (India) (2006, short)
Dir. Gitanjali Rao

Last Dance (Switz-Bel)
Dir. Delphine Lehericey

Une Femme De Notre Temps (Fr)
Dir. Jean Paul Civeyrac

Semret (Switz)
Dir. Caterina Mona

Home Of The Brave (US) (1986)
Dir. Laurie Anderson

Annie Colère (Fr)
Dir. Blandine Lenoir

Compartiment Tueurs (Fr) (1965)
Dir. Costa-Gavras

Vous N’aurez Pas Ma Haine (Ger-Fr-Bel)
Dir. Kilian Riedhof

Imitation Of Life (US) (1958)
Dir. Douglas Sirk

Alles Über Martin Suter. Ausser Die Wahrheit (Switz-Ger)
Dir. André Schäfer