Source: Searchlight Pictures


Searchlight Pictures’ Nomadland has added the PGA Award to its trophy cabinet as it sets its sights on the Academy Awards on April 25.

Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Frances McDormand, Peter Spears, and Chloé Zhao – riding high in a history-making campaign – beat nine other sets of producers in a strong field to claim the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures at the virtual 32nd Annual Producers Guild Awards on Wednesday evening (March 24).

The Baftas await on April 11, followed by the Oscars two weeks later that will bring a full stop to a protracted yet absorbing awards season.

The omens and statistics are smiling on Nomadland. The PGA best film winner has gone on to win the best picture Oscar 21 times in the last 31 years. That said, last year’s win for Parasite delivered one of the exceptions after 1917 won the PGA.

Nomadland has won top prizes at Venice, Toronto, Broadcast Film Critics Association, Bifa, and Golden Globes among numerous accolades from critics’ groups. It is not nominated for the ensemble SAG award on April 4, although frontrunner McDormand is among the lead actress contenders.

Elsewhere, Oscar favourite Soul was named best animation, and Oscar-nominated My Octopus Teacher continued a fine late season surge as it prevailed in the documentary category.

In the TV categories, Netflix’s The Crown won best drama series, Pop TV’s Schitt’s Creek took the corresponding comedy award, and The Queen’s Gambit beat HBO’s I May Destroy You for best limited series TV. Disney+ musical Hamilton won best televised or streamed film.

All feature and select TV winners appear below in bold.

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm (Amazon Studios)

Judas And The Black Messiah (Warner Bros)

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Netflix)

Mank (Netflix)

Minari (A24)

Nomadland (Searchlight Pictures)
Producers: Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Frances McDormand, Peter Spears, Chloé Zhao

One Night In Miami (Amazon Studios)

Promising Young Woman (Focus Features)

Sound Of Metal (Amazon Studios)

The Trial Of The Chicago 7 (Netflix)

Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

The Croods: A New Age (DreamWorks Animation)

Onward (Pixar)

Over The Moon (Netflix)

Soul (Pixar)
Producer: Dana Murray

Wolfwalkers (Apple TV+/GKIDS)

Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures

David Attenborough: A Life On Our Planet (Netflix)

Dick Johnson Is Dead (Netflix)

My Octopus Teacher (Netflix)
Producers: Craig Foster

Softie (Icarus Films)

A Thousand Cuts (PBS)

Time (Amazon Studios)

The Truffle Hunters (Sony Pictures Classics)

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television

Better Call Saul (AMC) – S5

Bridgerton – (Netflix) – S1

The Crown (Netflix) – S4
Producers: Peter Morgan, Suzanne Mackie, Stephen Daldry, Andy Harries, Benjamin Caron, Matthew Byam Shaw, Robert Fox, Michael Casey, Andy Stebbing, Martin Harrison, Oona O’Beirn

The Mandalorian (Disney+) – S2

Ozark (Netflix) – S3

Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy

Curb Your Enthusiasm (HBO) – S10

The Flight Attendant (HBO Max) – S1

Schitt’s Creek (Pop TV) – S6
Producers: Eugene Levy, Daniel Levy, Andrew Barnsley, Fred Levy, David West Read, Ben Feigin, Michael Short, Kurt Smeaton, Kosta Orfanidis

Ted Lasso (Apple TV+) – S1

What We Do In The Shadows (FX) – S2

David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television

I May Destroy You (HBO)

Normal People (Hulu)

The Queen’s Gambit (Netflix)
Producers: William Horberg, Allan Scott, Scott Frank, Marcus Loges, Mick Aniceto

The Undoing (HBO)

Unorthodox (Netflix)

Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures

Bad Education (HBO)

Dolly Parton’s Christmas On The Square

Hamilton (Disney+)
Producers: Thomas Kail, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Jeffrey Seller

Jane Goodall: The Hope

What The Constitution Means To Me.