The San Francisco Film Society and Kenneth Rainin Foundation have selected the 14 finallists for the latest round of SFFS / Kenneth Rainin Foundation Filmmaking Grants.

The partners will grant more than $300,000 to one or more narrative feature at any stage of production.

The grants are awarded twice a year to projects “that will have significant economic or professional impact on the Bay Area filmmaking community.”

More than $2m has been awarded since inception of the grant. Recent winners include Sundance hit Fruitvale Station and SXSW favourite Short Term 12. (pictured.)

Winners of the current shortlist will be announced in late October.

The finallists are:

Doctor, dir Musa Syeed;

Escape From Morgantown, dir Peter Nicks;

The Fixer, dir Ian Olds;

G.E.Z.I., dir Aslihan Unaldi;

Hellion, dir Kat Candler;
Kicks, dir Justin Tipping;
Little Accidents, dir Sara Corangelo;
Los Valientes / The Brave Ones, dir Aurora Guerrero;
Love Land, dir Joshua Tate;

Ma, dir Destin Cretton;

Manos Sucias, dir Josef Wladyka;
Start At The End, dir Jonah Markowitz; and
Terrible Love, dir Christopher Thomas.

One finalist has been omitted from the list at the request of the filmmaker. Should the project be awarded funds, details will emerge.