It was created in honour of the late Mary Selway, BAFTA-winning UK casting director who launched the careers of many young stars.


Last year’s Orange Rising Star nominees were Chiwetel Ejiofor, James McAvoy, Rachel McAdams, Michelle Williams and Gael Garcia Bernal.

Commenting on his award, the 2006 winner James McAvoy said:
‘This award is very special because it’s in honour of Mary Selway, somebody who cared about nurturing talent and not just about finding the next big thing for the next five minutes. It’s doubly special because the audience vote for it, it feels nice to know that they are rooting for you.’

James has had an exceptional year since receiving this coveted award. Releases include The Last King of Scotland, Penelope, and Starter for Ten, and the highly anticipated Atonement, currently in post-production.


Selection process
The first stage of finding the next Orange Rising Star is to create a long list of possible nominees and we are inviting distributors, producers, casting directors and Academy voting members to make their recommendations via e-mail.

The Orange Rising Star Award jury comprises 12 industry figures, including two members of the BAFTA film committee. The jury will consider the long list of nominations during two meetings in late 2006 and choose five final nominees via a secret ballot. The public will select the final winner.

Award criteria
Nominees must have appeared in a film released during the current Award Year: 1 January - 31 December 2006, and we expect that they will have already appeared in several other films. The Award is designed to recognise rising talent, however it is not intended as an award for beginners, nor is it intended to be for child actors. Nominees will usually be aged between 18 and 32.

Important Award dates

Deadline for recommendations: 20 October 2006
Five nominees announced: 8 January 2007
Public vote opens: 8 January 2007.

Winner announced and award presented at The Orange British Academy Film Awards on 11 February 2007.