The Quiet Girl

Source: Inscéal

‘The Quiet Girl’

Colm Bairéad’s debut The Quiet Girl (An Cailín Ciúin) and Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast are the joint frontrunners for the 2022 Irish Film And Television Academy (IFTA) awards, with 10 nominations each.

The Quiet Girl is an Irish-language drama telling the story of a young girl’s summer break away from her dysfunctional family in 1980s Ireland, when she stays with a foster couple. It is set to receive its premiere as the opening film at the Dublin International Film Festival tomorrow, and recently won the grand prize in the Generation Kplus strand at the Berlinale.

Scroll down for the list of nominations 

Belfast – which has received seven Oscar and six Bafta nominations – is Northern Ireland-born Branagh’s semi-autobiographical tale of growing up during the early days of The Troubles in 1960s Belfast. Both Belfast and The Quiet Girl have been nominated in the best film and best director (film) categories.

Four out of the six best films nominated are directorial debut feature films by Irish filmmakers – The Quiet Girl (Bairéad),  Deadly Cuts (Rachel Carey), Swan Song (Ben Cleary) and You Are Not My Mother (Kate Dolan).

Nominations have been shortlisted by Irish Academy members alongside specialist jury panels of industry experts from around the world. The winners will be announced in both a virtual event on March 12, and a physical event gathering in April.

IFTA 2022 nominations 

Best film

The Quiet Girl (An Cailín Ciúin)
Deadly Cuts
Swan Song
Who We Love
You Are Not My Mother

Director (film)

Swan Song – Benjamin Cleary 
The Quiet Girl (An Cailín Ciúin) – Colm Bairéad 
Who We Love – Graham Cantwell 
You Are Not My Mother – Kate Dolan
Belfast – Kenneth Branagh 

Script (film)

Belfast – Kenneth Branagh 
Redemption of a Rogue – Philip Doherty 
Swan Song – Benjamin Cleary 
Who We Love –  Graham Cantwell and Katie McNeice 
You Are Not My Mother – Kate Dolan 

Lead actor (film)

Aaron Monaghan – Redemption of a Rogue
Dónall Ó Héalai – Foscadh
Jude Hill – Belfast
Moe Dunford – Nightride
Peter Coonan – Doineann

Lead actress (film) 

Angeline Ball – Deadly Cuts
Catherine Clinch – An Cailín Ciúin
Gemma-Leah Devereux – The Bright Side
Hazel Doupe – You Are Not My Mother
Niamh Algar – Censor

Supporting actor (film)

Ciarán Hinds – Belfast
Cillian O Gairbhí – Foscadh
Dean Quinn –  Who We Love
Jamie Dornan – Belfast
Tom Vaughan-Lawlor – The Bright Side

Supporting actress (film)

Amy-Joyce Hastings – Who We Love
Caitríona Balfe – Belfast
Carrie Crowley – An Cailín Ciúin
Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter
Ruth Negga – Passing

The George Morrison feature documentary award

Castro’s Spies
Love Yourself Today
Pure Grit
The Dance
Young Plato


Burschi Wojnar – Redemption of a Rogue
James Mather – Kin
Kate McCullough – The Quiet Girl (An Cailín Ciúin)
Narayan Van Maele  You Are Not My Mother
Peter Robertson –  Vikings: Valhalla


Dermot Diskin – Kin
John Murphy – The Quiet Girl (An Cailín Ciúin)
Nathan Nugent –  Swan Song
Tony Cranstoun – Zone 414
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – Belfast

Production design 

Derek Wallace – Kin
Emma Lowney – The Quiet Girl (An Cailín Ciúin)
Joe Fallover – Wolf
Tamara Conboy – Deadly Cuts
Tom Conroy – Vikings: Valhalla

Costume design 

Eimear Ní Mhaoldomhnaigh –  Foundation
Kathy Strachan –  Deadly Cuts
Louise Stanton –  The Quiet Girl (An Cailín Ciúin)
Susan O’Connor Cave – Vikings: Valhalla
Susan Scott –  Zone 414

Make-up and hair 

Sian Wilson – Belfast
Lyndsey Herron & Edwina Kelly – Deadly Cuts
Linda Gannon and Clare Lambe – Foundation
Eileen Buggy, Audrey Doyle and Barrie Gower – The Green Knight
Dee Corcoran, Joe Whelan and Thomas McInerney – Vikings: Valhalla


Aza Hand and Alan Scully – Boys From County Hell
John “Bob” Brennan, Fionan Higgins, Mark Henry and Andrew Kirwan – Smother
Karl Merren & Johnny Marshall The Green Knight
Steve Fanagan – Swan Song
Steve Fanagan, John “Bob” Brennan and Brendan Rehill – The Quiet Girl (An Cailín Ciúin)

Original music 

David Holmes – Kin
Die Hexen – You Are Not My Mother
Joseph Conlan – Who We Love
Stephen Rennicks – The Quiet Girl (An Cailín Ciúin)
Van Morrison – Belfast


Ed Bruce and Andrew Barry – Spider-Man: No Way Home
Ed Bruce and Andrew Barry The Nevers
Ed Bruce and Manuel Martinez – Swan Song
Ed Bruce and Sam Johnston – The Book of Boba Fett
Kevin Cahill and Eric Saindon – The Green Knight