Kim Sun-kyung's 16mm short One Day Out (pictured) has won the Busan Asian Short Film Festival Grand Prize, which was awarded on Sunday.

A Special Jury Prize was awarded to Choi Jin-young's Too Happy To Die.

Highlights of the South Korean five-day BASFF, under the auspices of festival directors, Jeon Soo-il and Kim Sang-hwa, included a retrospective of short films by Iranian director Ali Mohammad Ghasemi and two seminars titled, "Characteristics of Media: Digital Video vs. Film" and "Short Film as Discourse on Resistance".

Established in 1980, the festival is considered one of Korea's top showcases of new talent. After expanding in 2000 to encompass films from other Asian countries, this year's edition featured a total of 112 films from nine Asian countries.

In the competitive Korean Short Film section, 55 films selected from 343 submissions competed for eight awards. Jury members included Seo Dong-jin (programmer, Jeonju International Film Festival), filmmaker Whang Cheol-Mean, Stephen Anker (director, San Francisco Cinematheque), Hubert Schwarze (programmer, International Short Film Festival Oberhausen), and producer Rumi Ono.

"This year's entries were distinguished not only by increased diversity in subject matter, but also the lively expression of the directors' talents," said jury member Whang Cheol-mean.

2002 Busan Asian Short Film Festival

Dongbaek Grand Prize: $4,000 (Won 5m) + 5,000 ft of 16mm film:
One Day Out, dir. Kim Sun-kyung (2001, 15min, 16mm, colour)

Special Jury Award: $2,400 (Won 3m) + 5,000 ft of 16mm film:
Too Happy To Die, dir. Choi Jin-young (2002, 12min, 16mm, b&w)

Minsong Award, $2,400 (Won 3m) + 5,000 ft of 16mm film:
7A.M. SLOWLY; opposite page, dir. Inan (2002, 12min, beta, colour)

Kyobo Award, $2,400 (Won 3m) + 5000 ft of 16mm film:
Adolescence, dir. Je Chang-gyu (2001, 17 min, 35mm, b&w)

Kodak Award, 5,200 ft of 35mm film:
Tuning In Silence, dir. Hong Doo-hyun (2001, 18min, 35mm, colour)

Best Actress Award:
Lee Ji-hye, A Washing Machine (dir. Won Sin-yun)

Best Actor Award:
Park Jun-hwa, Tuning In Silence (dir. Hong Doo-hyun)

Audience Awards:
Visitor, dir. Lim Wang-tae (2002, 32min, 35mm, color)
Road To Samchonpo, dir. Yoon Sung-ho (2001, 39min, video, colour)