Stephen Lighthill has been elected president of the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC).

Lighthill takes over from Michael Goi, who served three consecutive terms as president.

Lighthill is currently the chair of the cinematography program at American Film Institute Conservatory. His credits include Vietnam War Story, Earth 2, Nash Bridges and She Spies.

The Society’s board of governors also elected vice presidents Richard Crudo, Daryn Okada and Kees Van Oostrum, treasurer Victor J Kemper, secretary Fred Goodich and sergeant-at-arms Steven Fierberg.

“I am honoured and humbled to be trusted by my peers to lead the ASC,” Lighthill said. “There has never been a more exciting time to tell stories visually. The creative options are abundant today. That also means it’s never been more important for us as an organisation to collaborate in the diverse challenges affecting the role of the cinematographer.”