The jury for the 19th Raindance Film Festival includes Dexter Fletcher, Helen McCrory and Gillies MacKinnon.

London’s independent film showcase Raindance Film Festival (Sept 28 – Oct 9) has announced its jury, consisting of Sally Bibawy of photography company Lomography, actor-turned-director Dexter Fletcher (Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels), director Gillies MacKinnon (Hideous Kinky), Céline Masset, co-founder and Artistic Director of the Brussels Short Film Festival, actress Helen McCrory (The Queen, Harry Potter films), Wendy Mitchell, Head of News at Screen International, and radio and TV presenter Alex Zane.

The eight competitive festival categories are Best International Feature, Best UK Feature, Best Debut Feature, Best Documentary, Best Microbudget Feature, Best UK Short, Best International Short and the Film of the Festival. 

“Our jury represents the spectrum of the film industry – from actors to directors and critics to programmers – they bring an in-depth knowledge of film to the judging panel and will have the difficult job of choosing winners from the outstanding titles nominated this year,” said Elliot Grove, Festival Director.

This year’s event opens with Mike Cahill’s Another Earth and includes Rajko Grlic’s Just Between Us, Dan Lustig’s A Thousand Kisses Deep, Michael Axelgaard’s Hollow and Eleanor Burke’s Stranger Things.