Lucile Hadzihalilovic’s Evolution wins special jury prize; Joachim Lafosse’s The White Knights wins Silver Shell.


Scroll down for full list of winners

Rúnar Rúnarsson’s Sparrows has won the Golden Shell for best film at the 63rd San Sebastian International Film Festival (Sept 18-26).

Runarsson’s second film, following Volcano (2011), follows 16-year-old Ari, who has to leave his mother’s home in Reykjavik and move back to his former hometown in the isolated Westfjords of Iceland where he navigates a rocky relationship with his father.

Lucile Hadzihalilovic’s surreal horror film Evolution picked up the Special Jury Prize. The French director’s first feature in more than a decade follows a young boy living in a mysterious, isolated seaside clinic who uncovers the sinister purposes of his keepers.

The film also saw Manu Dacosse pick up the Jury Prize for best cinematography.

The Silver Shell for best director went to Joachim Lafosse for The White Knights (Les Chevaliers Blancs). The film stars Vincent Lindon as the head of an NGO attempting to rescue 300 children from the civil war in Chad.

The Silver Shell for best actor was shared by Ricardo Darin and Javier Cámara, co-stars in Cesc Gay’s Truman. Cámara plays a man who returns to Madrid in order to convince his childhood friend (Darin), whom he hasn’t spoken to in years, to continue his chemotherapy treatment.

Sparrows, Evolution, The White Knights andTruman all had their world premieres at Toronto earlier this month.

In only her second feature, Yordanka Ariosa picked up the Silver Shell for best actress for her performance in Agustí Villaronga’s The King Of Havana (El Rey De La Habana), which received its world premiere at San Sebastian.

The Audience Award went to Our Little Sister (Umimachi Diary) from Japan’s Hirokazu Koreeda.

San Sebastian 2015: Winners

Golden Shell For Best Film

Rúnar Rúnarsson (Iceland - Denmark - Croatia)

Special Jury Prize

Lucile Hadzihalilovic (France - Belgium - Spain)

Silver Shell For Best Director

Joachim Lafosse
The White Knights (Les Chevaliers Blancs)
Joachim Lafosse (Belgium - France)

Silver Shell For Best Actress

Yordanka Ariosa
The King Of Havana (El Rey De La Habana)
Agustí Villaronga (Spain - Dominican Rep.)

Silver Shell For Best Actor

Ricardo Darin and Javier Cámara
Cesc Gay (Spain - Argentina)

Jury Prize For Best Cinematography

Manu Dacosse
Lucile Hadzihalilovic (France - Belgium - Spain)

Jury Prize For Best Screenplay

Arnaud Larrieu, Jean-Marie Larrieu
21 Nights With Pattie (21 Nuits Avec Pattie)
Jean-Marie Larrieu, Arnaud Larrieu (France)

Jury Special Mention

The Apostate (El Apóstata)
Federico Veiroj (Spain - Uruguay - France)

Kutxabank-New Directors Award

Le Nouveau / The New Kid
Rudi Rosenberg (France)

Special Mention
Tjuvheder / Drifters
Peter Grönlund (Sweden)

Special Mention
Vida Sexual De Las Plantas (Sex Life Of Plants)
Sebastián Brahm (Chile)

Horizontes Award


Santiago Mitre (Argentina - Brazil - France)

Special Mention - Luis Silva
Desde Allá (From Afar)
Lorenzo Vigas (Venezuela - Mexico)

Special Mention
Te Prometo Anarquía (I Promise You Anarchy)
Julio Hernández Cordón (Mexico - Germany)

Irizar Basque Film Award

Amama (When A Tree Falls)
Asier Altuna Iza (Spain)

Special Mention - Irene Escolar
Un Otoño Sin Berlín
Lara Izagirre

Audience Award

Our Little Sister (Umimachi Diary)
Hirokazu Koreeda (Japan)

Award To The European Film
Mountains May Depart (Shan He Gu Ren)
Jia Zhang-Ke (China - France - Japan)

Ezae Youth Award

Santiago Mitre (Argentina - Brazil - France)

International Film Students Meeting Awards

First Prize
New Life (Nueva Vida)
Kiro Russo (Argentina - Bolivia)
Universidad Del Cine (Argentina)

Second Prize
The Enemy (El Enemigo)
Aldemar Matias (Cuba)
Escuela Internacional De Cine Y Tv (Eictv) (Cuba)

Third Prize
Wada’ / Prediction
Khaled Mzher (Germany)
Deutsche Film - Und Fernsehakademie Berlin (Germany)

Orona Award
New Life (Nueva Vida)
Kiro Russo (Argentina - Bolivia)
Universidad Del Cine (Argentina)

Torino Award
Volando Voy (I’ll Fly Higher)
Isabel Lamberti (Netherlands)
Netherlands Film Academy (Netherlands)

Tokyo Gohan Film Festival Award

Noma, My Perfect Storm
Pierre Deschamps (UK - Denmark)

Films In Progress Awards

Era O Hotel Cambridge / The Cambridge Squatter
Eliane Caffé (Brasil - France)
Films In Progress Industry Award
Ibermedia Tv Films In Progress Award

Europe-Latin America Co-Production Forum. Egeda Best Project Award

La Omisión (The Omission)
Sebastián Schjaer (Argentina - Germany - France)

Special Mention To The Project
Memorias Del Calabozo
Álvaro Brechner (Spain-Uruguay)
Directed By Álvaro Brechner And Tornasol Films

TVE-Another Look Award

Santiago Mitre (Argentina - Brazil - France)

Spanish Cooperation Award

La Tierra Y La Sombra (Land And Shade)
César Augusto Acevedo (Colombia - Chile - Brazil - Netherlands - France)

Fipresci Award

The Apostate (El Apóstata)
Federico Veiroj (Spain - Uruguay - France)

Zinemaldia Feroz Award

Cesc Gay (Spain - Argentina)

Signis Award

Levan Tutberidze (Georgia)

Special Mention
Amama (When A Tree Falls)
Asier Altuna Iza (Spain)

Guipuzcoan Blood-Donors’ Association Corresponding To The Solidarity Award

Peter Sollett (US)

Sebastiane Award

Peter Sollett (US)