The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Hollywood has decided to give an Award of Commendation (a special Academy Award) to the Swedish cinematographer Rune Ericson, who invented the Super 16-system in the early 70s.

The Award has only been given out 5 times since it was introduced in 1991. The ceremony takes place in Hollywood on Mar 2.

Rune Ericson (b. 1924) has worked as a cinematographer on some 60 Swedish features including Master Detective Blomkvist (1947), Love Mates (1961), The Brothers Lionheart (1977) and S.O.S.: Swedes at Sea (1988), and was awarded with an honorary Swedish Film Award (Guldbagga) in 1984.

The still highly popular Super-16-format was first used in Vilgot Sjöman's Blushing Charlie (Lyckliga skitar) in 1970, and it is estimated that some 900 international features and TV-productions have used the format since.