The Tribeca Film Institute (TFI) has announced the recipients of its 2008 Media Arts Fellowships founded and supported by the Rockefeller Foundation.

This year TFI awarded $715,000 to 22 film-makers and media artists. The Fellowships offer financial support for artists working in the narrative, documentary, experimental, installation and computer-generated media genres.

The Media Arts Fellowships recognise the artistic excellence of 20 film, video and new media artists in the US with cash awards of $35,000 each. The programme also awards two additional Fellowships of $7,500 each to emerging film and video artists.

'Whether it is a script that needs financing to begin production, or a completed film that needs funding for editing and promotional support, the Fellowships we award allow these talented individuals to contribute fantastic work to the independent media field,' TFI CEO Brian Newman said.

In addition to the Media Arts Fellowships, TFI awards funds through Tribeca All Access, The Tribeca/Sloan Screenplay Development Program and the Gucci Tribeca Documentary Fund throughout the year.

Film and video Fellows are: Julianna Brannum (Emerging Artist) of Los Angeles, California, with LaDonna Harris: Indian 101; Andrew Bujalski of Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, with his untitled Sisters Project; Daniel Carrera of West Hollywood, California with Invoking Dolores; Cherien Dabis of New York, New York, with Amreeka; Jacqueline Goss of Tivoli, New York, with Hart's Location; and Judith Helfand of New York, New York, with Heat Wave: An Unnatural Disaster.

The list continues with: Braden King of New York, New York, with Here; Billy Luther of Los Angeles, California, with Grab; Shirin Neshat of New York, New York, with Iran/Laos; Hugo Perez (Emerging Artist) from Brooklyn, New York, with Immaculate Conception; Laura Poitras of New York, New York, with Release; Dee Rees of Long Beach, California, with Pariah; Jennifer Reeves of New York, New York, with Firelight Song; Naomi Uman of Newhall, California, with The Ukrainian Time Machine; Lauren Woods from San Francisco, California, with Fountains; and Jessica Yu of La Canada-Flintridge, California, with Signs Of Life.

New Media Fellows are: Sharon Daniel of San Francisco, California, with Capitalist Punishment; Joe Davis of Cambridge, Massachusetts, with Call Me Ishmael; Josh On from San Francisco, California, with They Rule And We Work; C.E.B. Reas from Santa Monica, California, with an untitled installation; Michael Rees from North Bergen, New Jersey, with The Sculptural User Installation: Social Sculpture as Tree-ed Binary Large Object; and Paul Vanouse from Buffalo, New York, with Latent Figure Protocol.