Babycall wins four prizes; Joachim Trier named best director for Oslo, August 31.

Norwegian director Jannicke Systad Jacobsen Turn Me On, Goddammit (Få meg på, for faen) -”a humorous, bittersweet and tender tale of teen angst and horniness set among the fjells and fjords of Norway” – won the Amanda for Best Feature, when Norway’s national film prizes were announced Friday (Aug 17) at Haugesund’s Festiviteten Hall prior to the 40th Norwegian International Film Festival.

Starring actress newcomer Helene Bergsholm, Systad Jacobsen’s feature debut was also awarded for Best Cinematography (Marianne Bakke). When launched at the 2011 Tribeca Film Festival in New York, it won for Best Script in the World Narrative Competition. The film was produced by Brede Hovland and Sigve Endresen for Motlys.

Pål Sletaune’s psychological thriller Babycall cashed in on nine nominations to collect four prizes, including Best Original Screenplay (Sletaune) and Best Actress (Swedish actress Noomi Rapace).

Morten Tyldum’s local blockbuster Headhunters (Hodejegerne) took the People’s Amanda, after a readers’ vote in Norwegian daily, the VG.


Best Feature: Turn Me On, Goddammit! (Få meg på, for faen). Dir: Jannicke Systad Jacobsen. Prods: Brede Hovland, Sigve Endresen, for Motlys.

The People’s Amanda (VG Daily-readers’ vote): Headhunters (Hodejegerne). Dir: Morten Tyldum

Best Children’s Feature: Coming Home (Til sidste hinder). Dir: Anders Øvergaard. Prods: Kathrine Haugen for Filimo Film, Odd G. Iversen for Atomfilm

Best Director: Joachim Trier, for Oslo, August 31 (Oslo, 31. August)

Best Actress: Noomi Rapace, for Babycall. Dir: Pål Sletaune

Best Actor: Kristoffer Joner, for The Orheim Company (Kompani Orheim). Dir: Stian Kristiansen

Best Supporting Actress: Cecilie A. Mosli, for The Orheim Company

Best Supporting Actor: Jon Øigarden, for Varg Veum – At Night All Wolves Are Grey (Varg Veum–I mørket er alle ulver grå). Dir: Alexander Eik

Best Original Screenplay: Pål Sletaune, for Babycall

Best Cinematography: Marianne Bakke, for Turn Me On, Goddammit!

Best Production Design: Roger Rosenberg, for Babycall

Best Visual Effects: Eirik Aanonsen, Christer Engström, for Pushwagner

Best Musical Score: Peder Kjellsby, for Varg Veum-The Dead Have It Easy (Varg Veum–De døde har det godt)

Best Editing: Olivier Bugge Coutté, for Oslo, August 31

Best Sound Design: Tormod Ringnes, Christian Schaanning, for Babycall

Best Short: To Guard a Mountain (Å vokte fjellet). Dir: Izer Aliu. Prod: Elisabeth Kvithyll, for the Norwegian National Film School

Best Documentary: Folk ved fjorden. Dir: Øyvind Sandberg. Prods: Jorunn Botne, Øyvind Sandberg, for Øy-Film

Best Foreign Feature: Drive (US). Dir: Nicolas Winding Refn. Local distr: SF Norge

Honorary Amanda: Norwegian actor Joachim Calmeyer