Debra Granik’s acclaimed drama scooped the best feature prize at last night’s [29] 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards at Cipriani Wall Street in New York.

Winter’s Bone also took the best ensemble award for hotly tipped Jennifer Lawrence (pictured) and her supporting cast of John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt and Devin Breznahan.

Anne Rosellini and Alix Madigan-Yorkin produced Winter’s Bone and Roadside Attractions is releasing in the US.

Laura Poitras’ The Oath was named best documentary and Zeitgeist Films and American Documentary/POV handle the US release. Poitras also produced.

The breakthrough director award went to Kevin Asch for Holy Rollers, which is released in the US through First Independent Pictures

Ronald Bronstein was named breakthrough actor for Daddy Longlegs (IFC Films) and Littlerock took the Best Film Not Playing At A Theater Near You Award.

For the first time the winner of the Best Film Not Playing At A Theater Near You Award will receive distribution. The film will play for one week at Cinema Village in New York City and receive distribution consultation and market strategy from CrowdStarter, advertising support in the New York Times, publicity consultation from Donna Daniels PR and a cash award of $15,000 from The Royal Bank Of Canada.

The Festival Genius Audience Award was presented to Davis Guggenheim’s Waiting For “Superman”. Leslie Chilcott and Michael Brietal produced and Paramount Vantage handles the US release.

Robert Duvall and Hilary Swank, director Darren Aronofsky and Focus Features CEO James Shamus received career tributes.