By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

MDA unveils grant recipients under new scheme

Singapore’s Media Development Authority (MDA) has announced the eight local directors who have each been awarded $205,000 (S$250,000) under the inaugural New Talent Feature Grant (NTFG).

The grant is a new initiative by the Singapore Film Commission (SFC), part of the MDA, to support up-and-coming directors making Singaporean content, including commercial and arthouse features, documentaries and TV films.

Unlike previous co-investment schemes, the NTFG gives the filmmakers S$250,000 or up to 100% of their production budget (whichever is lower) and the directors will get to own the intellectual property of their films.

A minimum of 40% of the grant money does need to be spent in Singapore, and the grant-winning projects must be completed within a year.

Six of the eight grant winners are first-time feature film directors: Ric Aw with the project Building Waves; Abbas Akbar with Singapooru; M Raihan Halim with Banting; Jason Lai with Ms J Contemplates Her Choice; Kesavadas S/O Rajagopal with A Yellow Bird, and Tan Ai Leng with Sinema

The two others are second-time directors who have won awards for their previous work. Documentary filmmaker Tan Pin Pin won the grant with her project Hinterland and Teo Eng Tiong with The Confinement Nanny.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!