This year’s shortlist has been extended from 4 to 10 artists film-makers including The Arbor director Clio Barnard.

Other artist film-makers to make the shortlist for Film London’s annual Jarman Award are Ed Atkins, Claire Hooper, Anja Kirschner & David Panos, Torsten Lauschmann, Elizabeth Price, Laure Prouvost, Hilary Koob-Sassen, Corin Sworn and Imogen Stidworthy.

Launched in 2008 in memory of avant garde film-maker Derek Jarman, this year’s shortlist has been extended from 4 to 10 artists to “offer a more comprehensive survey of the work and  practice of UK film and video artists, and celebrate the rich and eclectic array of work emerging in recent years,” according to Film London.

The winning artists will be awarded a £10,000 cash prize and a commission, with a budget of £20,000, to make a film-based artwork for Channel 4’s new art strand which will be launched later this year. It will be announced at a special event on 3 October 2011 at the Whitechapel Gallery.

Jury members include Tate Modern film curator Stuart Comer, director of the Whitechapel Gallery Iwona Blazwick, and artistic director of the LFF Sandra Hebron.

A UK touring programme showcasing works by the shortlisted artists will also take place over the coming weeks at venues throughout the UK, including CIRCA Screen in Sunderland, FACT in Liverpool and CCA in Glasgow.

The tour will culminate in a day of screenings and events at London’s Whitechapel Gallery on Oct 1.

Adrian Wootton, chief executive of Film London said: “This award is all about championing that work and promoting these brilliant artists. By extending the shortlist from 4 to 10 we are giving more artists this important platform.”

Previous winners are Luke Fowler (2008), Lindsay Seers (2009), and Emily Wardill (2010).