Beasts Of The Southern Wild, Bernie, Moonrise Kingdom and Middle Of Nowhere each earned two nominations in the run-up to IFP’s 22nd annual Gotham Independent Film Awards on Nov 26 in New York.

Marion Cotillard and Matt Damon, director David O Russell and Participant Media founder Jeff Skoll will each receive a career tribute.

There were 211 eligible submissions and primary criteria dictated that the films must be feature-length US works from US-based or US-born directors and producers, distributed independently and “made with a point of view.”

The nominations for the 2012 Gotham Independent Film Awards are:


Bernie, dir Richard Linklater (Millennium Entertainment)

The Loneliest Planet, dir Julia Loktev (Sundance Selects)

The Master, dir Paul Thomas Anderson (The Weinstein Company)

Middle Of Nowhere, dir Ava DuVernay (AFFRM and Participant Media)

Moonrise Kingdom, dir Wes Anderson (Focus Features)



Detropia, dirs Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady (Loki Films)

How To Survive A Plague, dir David France (Sundance Selects)

Marina Abramović: The Artist Is Present, dir Matthew Akers (HBO Documentary Films and Music Box Films)

Room 237, dir Rodney Ascher (IFC Midnight)

The Waiting Room, dir Peter Nicks (International Film Circuit)



Jack Black, Shirley MacLaine, Matthew McConaughey (Millennium Entertainment)

Moonrise Kingdom
Bruce Willis, Edward Norton, Bill Murray, Frances McDormand, Tilda Swinton, Jared Gilman, Kara Hayward, Jason Schwartzman, Bob Balaban (Focus Features)

Safety Not Guaranteed
Aubrey Plaza, Mark Duplass, Jake Johnson, Karan Soni, Jenica Bergere, Kristen Bell, Jeff Garlin, Mary Lynn Rajskub (Film District)

Silver Linings Playbook
Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro, Jacki Weaver, Chris Tucker, Anupam Kher (The Weinstein Company)

Your Sister’s Sister
Emily Blunt, Rosemarie Dewitt, Mark Duplass (IFC Films)



Zal Batmanglij for Sound Of My Voice (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Brian M Cassidy and Melanie Shatzky for Francine (Factory 25 and The Film Sales Company)

Jason Cortlund and Julia Halperin for Now, Forager (Argot Pictures)

Antonio Méndez Esparza for Aquí Y Allá (Here And There) (Torch Films)

Benh Zeitlin for Beasts Of The Southern Wild (Fox Searchlight Pictures)



Mike Birbiglia in Sleepwalk With Me (IFC Films)

Emayatzy Corinealdi in Middle Of Nowhere (AFFRM and Participant Media)

Thure Lindhardt in Keep The Lights On (Music Box Films)

Melanie Lynskey in Hello, I Must Be Going (Oscilloscope Laboratories)

Quvenzhané Wallis in Beasts Of The Southern Wild (Fox Searchlight Pictures)



Kid-Thing, dir David Zellner

An Oversimplification Of Her Beauty, dir Terence Nance

Red Flag, dir Alex Karpovsky

Sun Don’t Shine, dir Amy Seimetz,

Tiger Tail In Blue, dir Frank V Ross

Nominees for the second euphoria Calvin Klein Spotlight On Women Filmmakers ‘Live the Dream’ grant carrying a $25,000 cash award for an alumna of IFP’s Independent Filmmaker Labs are Leah Meyerhoff for I Believe In Unicorns Stacie Passon for Concussion and Visra Vichit Vadakan for Karaoke Girl.

Film fans will vote on the 3rd Annual Gotham Independent Film Audience Award for a US film that must have won an audience award at one of the top 50 US or Canadian film festivals from November 2011 through October 2012.  Voting begins today here and nominees will be announced on Nov 5.