New York-based promotional organisation Cinema Tropical has announced the nominees for the second annual Cinema Tropical Awards celebrating the best of Latin American film production in the last year.

The awards will be announced in a ceremony on Dec 1 in New York City.

A jury of 15 professionals and critics voted on the films which had their world premiere between Jan 1, 2010, and March 31, 2011.

A jury will decide on the winners which includes MOMA’s Sally Berger, critics Jeronimo Rodriguez and Paul Julian Smith, screenwriter Mauricio Zacharias, film-maker Nicolas Entel and programmer Marcelia Goglio.
The nominees are:
Best feature film: Leap Year (Mexico, 2010), The Lips (Argentina, 2010), The Invisible Eye (Argentina, 2010), October (Peru, 2010), Post Mortem (2010, Chile)
Best director: Michael Rowe, Leap Year; Diego Lerman, The Invisible Eye; Daniel & Diego Vega, October; Pablo Larrain, Post Mortem; Nicolas Pereda & Verano De Goliat, Summer Of Goliath
Best documentary feature: The Peddler (Argentina, 2010), Cuchillo De Palo (Paraguay, 2010), The Tiniest Place (Mexico, 2011), Nostalgia For The Light (Chile, 2010), El Velador (Mexico, 2011)
Best director, documentary film

Renate Costa, Cuchilo De Palo; Tatiana Huezo, The Tiniest Place; Patricio Guzman, Nostalgia For The Light; Rodrigo Siqueira, The Earth Giveth, The Earth Taken; Natalia Almada, El Velador
Best first film: Abel (Mexico, 2010), Leap Year (Mexico, 2010), The Tiniest Place (Mexico, 2011), October (Peru, 2010), Puzzle (Argentina, 2010).