Gurinder Chadha presented the awards ceremony.

Director Gurinder Chadha presented Film London’s annual ‘Best of Boroughs’ awards, which celebrate short film-making talent associated with the London Borough Film Fund Challenge, at the BFI Southbank.

The Jury Award was given to Claire Oakley for her film Physics, an exploration of the redemptive power of childhood imagination based around two young girls who discover ‘The God Particle’ on a local beach. Oakley and her production team will receive a £2000 prize.

The jury consisted of producer Stephen Woolley, BFI Film Fund senior production executive Chris Collins, critic Finn Halligan, producer Pippa Cross and writer/director Hong Khaou.

Special mention was also given to Darklight, directed by Richard Turley, and Stop, written/directed by Paul Murphy. There were 11 films shortlisted for the prize this year.

Alongside the Jury Award, there is also an Audience Award with a further £2000 prize up for grabs. The winner will be announced on the Film London website in September.

Film London’s London Borough Film Fund Challenge is a short film-making scheme which aims to reach London’s next generation of film-makers. Film London works in partnership with the borough film funds, providing in the region of £85,000 towards the scheme plus advisory support.