Reese Witherspoon

Reese Witherspoon

Amazon Studios has ordered a limited series based on Taylor Jenkins Reid’s seventies rock band novel Daisy Jones & The Six from Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine and Circle of Confusion.

Scott Neustadter and Michael H Weber, recent Oscar nominees for their The Disaster Artist screenplay, have written the pilot and will oversee the 13-episode series.

Witherspoon and Lauren Neustadter will serve as executive producers for Hello Sunshine, which is co-producing with Amazon Studios, and Brad Mendelsohn for Circle of Confusion. Neustadter and Weber will also be executive producers, with Jenkins Reid as producer. The series will premiere exclusively on Amazon Prime Video in more than 200 territories. 

Daisy Jones joins a growing Hello Sunshine slate that also includes Hulu original series Little Fires Everywhere and three projects for Apple, among them true crime series Are You Sleeping and an untitled series starring Witherspoon and Jennifer Aniston. 

Commenting on the new limited series, Amazon Studios head Jennifer Salke said: “When I heard Hello Sunshine was developing Daisy Jones & The Six, I tracked down a copy right away and devoured it in one sitting. I loved it so much I had to take it off the market and bring it to Amazon Studios. I was immediately struck by how perfectly it fit into our overall approach of bringing passionate creators and entertaining, compelling content to our Prime Video audience. Reese, Lauren and I are kindred spirits!” 

Witherspoon added: “As soon as I started reading Daisy Jones & The Six, I immediately fell head over heels in love with it, and I’m thrilled to be bringing it to the screen with Amazon and Jen Salke, whose passionate pursuit of the material spoke volumes. With Neustadter and Weber, two writers I deeply admire, stewarding this project, I am so confident that Daisy and her band’s journey toward finding their voice will leave just as permanent a mark with viewers around the world as it did with me.”