Atonement and Pride And Prejudice director Joe Wright has been named as president of the Michael Powell jury for best British film at this year’s Edinburgh International Film Festival (EIFF).

The British director will lead a jury that also includes Janet Street Porter, USA Today film critic Claudia Puig, Oscar nominated actor Frank Langella (Frost/Nixon), and Australian actor Sacha Horler (My Year Without Sex).

Backed by the UK Film Council, the Powell Award for best British film carries a prize of $33,000 (£20,000).

The nominees for the 2009 award:

A Boy Called Dad by Brian Percival
Boogie Woogie by Duncan Ward
The Calling by Jan Dunn
Crying With Laughter by Justin Molotnikov
Fish Tank by Andrea Arnold
Kicks by Lindy Heymann
Mad, Sad & Bad by Avie Luthra
Moon by Duncan Jones
My Last Five Girlfriends by Julian Kemp
Running In Traffic by Dale Corlett
Unmade Beds by Alexis Dos Santos

Past winners of the Powell Award include Shane Meadows for Somers Town, Anton Corbijn for Control, Pawel Pawlikowski for My Summer Of Love and Last Resort, and David Mackenzie for Young Adam.

Wright said: “I am honoured to be in such illustrious company as this year’s jury and I am thrilled to be back at the Edinburgh Film Festival, which has always been the greatest melting pot of the British film industry and culture.”

The 2009 edition of EIFF, which opens in June 17, also sees the introduction of an award for best new international feature which is open to non-UK films making their world or international premiere at the event. The jury includes actress Kerry Fox, actor/director Alan Cummin and Screen International film critic Lee Marshall.

The nominees include Adam by Max Mayer, My Year Without Sex by Sarah Watt and Wide Open Spaces by Tom Hall.