New features by Michael Haneke, Marleen Gorris and Jaco van Dormael are among seven international co-productions awarded over $8.5m (Euros 5.4m) by the German Federal Film Fund (DFFF) incentive scheme in the first quarter of 2008.

Another $3.6m (Euros 2.3m) in incentives was paid out to nine German films, including Anno Saul's mystery thriller Die Tuer with Mads Mikkelsen and Jessica Schwarz, Christian Petzold's new drama Jerichow starring Nina Hoss and Benno Fuermann, Bertram Verhaag's documentary Scientists Under Attack about the controversial academics Arpad Pusztai and Ignacio Chapela, and Alexander Adolph's So Gluecklich War Ich Noch Nie, with Devid Striesow and Nadja Uhl which begins shooting April 15 in Berlin for Eikon Media, with Kinowelt as distributor.

The largest sum allocated so far this year - $2.62m (Euros 1.66m) - went to Haneke's The White Ribbon (Das Weisse Band) which will be produced by X-Filme Creative Pool with Austria's Wega Film and France's Les Films de Losange. August Diehl and Susanne Lothar are set to star in the drama set in a Northern German rural community on the eve of the First World War. Principal photography will commence at locations in Brandenburg at the beginning of June.

According to the DFFF, the seven international projects, including Marleen Gorris' Within The Whirlwind and Jaco van Dormael's Mr Nobody, with total budgets of $103m (Euros 65.2m), will generate a 'German spend' of $50.5m (Euros 32m), while the nine German films with total production costs of $24.2m (Euros 15.3m) will have a local spend of over $23m (Euros 14.6m).

Of the 16 projects receiving support from the DFFF up to the end of March, nine are fiction films, six documentaries, and one an animation project, Lauras Stern In China, the first animation feature co-production between Germany and China.