Korean So Yong-kim's first feature In Between Days won the prices for best film and best actress in the international competition at the ninth Buenos Aires International Festival of Independent Cinema (BAFICI).

Argentinian film-makers Federico Leon and Marcos Martinez took the Special Jury Award for Estrellas (Stars), while Portugal's Hugo Vieira da Silva received the best director award for Body Rice. The prize for best actor went to Arturo Goetz for his work in El Asaltante (The Mugger), by local film-maker Pablo Fendrik.

Santiago Giralt, Camila Toker and Tamae Garateguy's UPA! Una Pelicula Argentina (UPA! An Argentinian Film), a satire on the cliches of the New Argentinian Cinema, won the official competition por local films and took a cash award of $50.000.

Veteran Rafael Filippelli (Musica Nocturna/Night Music) and Raul Perrone (Canada) shared the best director award in the Argentinian competition.

The 13-day festival, Argentina's biggest in terms of films and attendance, broke several records: 468 films from 47 countries were shown; 312 foreign directors, producers, distributors, actors and festival programmers and 2300 from Argentina participated at the event, and 260.700 tickets were sold, a 11.5% increase compared with last year's figures.

Awards in full
-Best film: In Between Days, by So Yong-Kim (Canada-US-South Korea)
-Best director: Hugo Vieira da Silva for Body Rice (Portugal)
-Special jury price: Estrellas (Stars), by Federico Leon y Marcos Martinez (Argentina)
-Best actress: Jiseon Kim for In Between Days
-Best actor: Arturo Goetz for El Asaltante (The Mugger), by Pablo Fendrik (Argentina)
-Best film (Argentinian competition): UPA! Una Pelicula Argentina, by Santiago Giralt, Camila Toker and Tamae Garateguy
-Special mention (Argentinian competition): La Leon, by Santiago Otheguy
-Best director (Argentinian competition): Rafael Filippelli for Musica Nocturna (Night Music) and Raul Perrone for Canada (ex aequo)
-Best short film: abc, etc, by Sergio Subero (Argentina)
-Human Rights award: 9 Star Hotel, by Ido Haar (Israel)
-Cinema of the Future Award: El Tiempo Que Se Queda (The Time That Rests), by Jose Luis Torres Leiva (Chile)
-FIPRESCI award: El Telon de Azucar, by Camila Guzman Urzua (Cuba- Francia)
-SIGNIS award: The Unpolished, by Pia Marais (Germany)
-ADF award (best cinematography): Jorge Crespo for El Desierto Negro/Black Desert (Argentina).
-FEISAL award (film schools): Estrellas (Stars)
-Argentores award (screenwriters): Estrellas (Stars)