Canada’s divisive bilingual markets bellowed from the nation’s capital at this year’s Genie awards last night [10].

Denis Villeneuve’s Incendies garnered eight prizes – including best picture and direction – while Barney’s Version took home seven, including statuettes for best actor Paul Giamatti and supporting actors Dustin Hoffman and Minnie Driver.

Incendies was produced by Montreal’s Luc Dery and Kim McCraw. Barney’s Version was produced by Toronto-based Robert Lantos.

Best actress went to Incendies’ Lubna Azaba and Villeneuve garnered best adapted screenplay, while The Trotsky director Jacob Tierney claimed best original script. Last Train Home took best documentary.

Broadcast live from the National Arts Centre in Ottawa on CBC, the awards presentation was hosted by William Shatner and featured musical performances from Melissa Etheridge, Serena Ryder, Johnny Reid, and Karkwa.

31st Annual Genie Award Winners

Best Motion Picture
Incendies - Luc Dery, Kim McCraw

Achievement In Art Direction/Production Design
Claude Pare, Elise de Blois - Barney’s Version

Achievement In Costume Design
Nicoletta Massone - Barney’s Version

Achievement In Cinematography
Andre Turpin – Incendies

Achievement In Direction
Denis Villeneuve – Incendies

Achievement In Editing
Monique Dartonne – Incendies

Achievement In Make-Up
Adrien Morot, Rejean Goderre, Valli O’Reilly, Micheline Trépanier - Barney’s Version

Achievement In Music - Original Score
Pasquale Catalano - Barney’s Version

Achievement In Music - Original Song
Mary Milne – The Trotsky – “Already Gone”

Performance By An Actor In A Leading Role
Paul Giamatti - Barney’s Version

Performance By An Actor In A Supporting Role
Dustin Hoffman - Barney’s Version

Performance By An Actress In A Leading Role
Lubna Azabal – Incendies

Performance By An Actress In A Supporting Role
Minnie Driver - Barney’s Version

Achievement In Overall Sound
Jean Umansky, Jocelyn Caron, Jean-Pierre Laforce, Benoit Leduc – Incendies

Achievement In Sound Editing
Sylvain Bellemare, Simon Meilleur, Claire Pochon – Incendies

Original Screenplay
Jacob Tierney - The Trotsky

Adapted Screenplay
Denis Villeneuve – Incendies

Best Documentary
Last Train Home – Lixin Fan, Mila Aung-Thwin, Daniel Cross

Best Live Action Short Drama
Savage - Lisa Jackson, Lauren Grant, Lori Lozinski

Best Animated Short
Lipsett Diaries (Les Journaux De Lipsett) - Theodore Ushev, Marc Bertrand


Claude Jutra Award
Jephte Bastien - Sortie 67

Honourable Mention: Peter Stebbings, Defendor

Golden Reel Award

Resident Evil: Afterlife – Don Carmody, Jeremy Bolt, Robert Kulzer (Distributor: Alliance Films)