The Jerwood Charitable Foundation has announced the three winners of the inaugural Jerwood Moving Image Awards.

The winners are Evensong by Sophie Clements, Procrastination by Johnny Kelly and Sea Change by Rosie Pedlow and Joe King. Each gets an award of $19,783 (£10,000).

The awards are for artists working in digital moving image.

Roanne Dods, director of the Foundation, said: 'The Jerwood Moving Image Awards mark the coming of age of a uniquely exciting creative discipline of almost limitless possibility. The three winning films wonderfully fulfil the potential of putting digital technology in the hands of artists, and will hopefully encourage audiences, artists and critics alike to engage more closely with this artform.'

Wayne McGregor of the Royal Ballet led the judging panel, which also included film producer Marc Botohe, educator John Maeda, artist Jane Prophet, historian Sukhdev Sandhu and Wapping Project director Jules Wright.

There were 8 finalists and 22 other shortlisted films selected from 350 entries.