The scheme is focused on writers and directors looking to make their “signature” film.

The London Film School (LFS) and Skillset have announced the participants for Hothouse, a new scheme for writers and directors preparing ‘signature’ feature films .

The candidates are Nicholas Abrahams, Henry Darke and Harry Wootliff, Bille Eltringham, Dima Hamda, Felix Harrison, Jonathan Romney, Jessica Townsend and Kanchi Wichmann.

They have been selected from a range of creative backgrounds and, between them, have already achieved considerable success in theatre, music, TV and journalism and cinema.They were chosen from among 70 applicants and nominations.

Hothouse aims focus on the craft of creative development, whilst fostering a culture of collaboration and a sense of community.

Hothouse has been created by Margaret Glover, LFS senior lecturer and award-winning screenwriter, with LFS Director and producer, Ben Gibson. They have worked with an advisory group of producers and writers comprising Chris Collins (My Summer Of Love, Brick Lane); Kate Ogborn (The Unloved, One For The Road); Peter Ettedgui (Kinky Boots, Unmade Beds); Justin Trefgarne (Unborn, Life:XP) and Udayan Prasad (My Son The Fanatic, Gabriel & Me).